vBulletin Integration Plugin - Almost Alpha

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
bugfaceuk
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

vBulletin Integration Plugin - Almost Alpha

Post by bugfaceuk » Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:23 pm

So first off, congratulations to the entire Joomla! Development community, I've just downloaded RC3 and it is absolutely fantastic! I've just managed to build two plugins (one authentication and one user) to authenticate against, and load users from a vBulletin database (which can be stored on a different host/database if needed). All without changing a single line of code outside the plugin in either vBulletin or Joomla!

So first question is, is there a demand for this? It actually stores all the user data in vBulletin rather than Joomla! meaning that there are no sync/update issues, but user management from an Admin perspective is all done in vBulletin. For my purposes that suits me, I really don't care where, as long as there is just one place!

Anyhow, once again a hearty congratulations to the team, I've been able to build what I wanted to years ago, but couldn't without hacking core files making upgrading sites a nightmare.

mariusvr
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Re: vBulletin Integration Plugin - Almost Alpha

Post by mariusvr » Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:05 am

Hey,

Just written an authentication plugin for vbulletin too. Should have done a search on the forum before starting it  ;D Just remembered that a lot of people were complaining about a lack of vbulletin integration (including me).

Maybe we could compare notes, open a project on the forge and share it as an extention.

Cheers, Marius