Correct Permissions??

Discussion regarding Joomla! security issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
embsupafly
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Correct Permissions??

Postby embsupafly » Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:10 am

During my install, all of the files at the bottom of the pre-install checklist were UNWRITEABLE, these errors only went away if I chmod'ed them to 777 (755 and 775 would not do it). The files are owned by my username, so this was very weird.

My question is, what are the correct permissions now that everything is installed? I can't remember which files I chmod'ed. Is there a directory structure with the recommended permissions available? Or is there a magic button that fixes all permissions for security holes?

Also, it is my understanding that if you want to change the global config, you need to chmod to 777, make changes, then chmod back to 644, is this correct?

Finally, is there a guide out there that shows how to customize the site to the look you want?

xenon2000
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Correct Permissions??

Postby xenon2000 » Tue Feb 28, 2006 6:18 pm

I can't believe this has been read well over 300 times and a moderator (or even a user) has not replied with either the correct information or a link to an existing thread if there is one, or a link to a Joomla page with the information. Sadly this information should have been in a readme file with the distribution, but is not. Sure my Joomla is installed, but I did a search for permissions and came to this thread and many readers and no responses. The moderators at the very least should have replied to such a basic and fundamental concern.

Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Postby Tonie » Tue Feb 28, 2006 8:41 pm