Problems with JTable::getInstance('frontpage', 'Table');

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Stian
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Problems with JTable::getInstance('frontpage', 'Table');

Post by Stian » Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:11 pm

Hi, this is perhaps quite stupid, butI have the following code:

Code: Select all

global $mainframe;

JTable::addIncludePath(JPATH_ADMINISTRATOR.DS.'components'.DS.'com_frontpage'.DS.'tables');
		$table =& JTable::getInstance('frontpage', 'Table');
		$table->ordering = $table->getNextOrder();
		$table->content_id = 45;
		if (!$table->store()) {
			echo $table->getError();
			die();
		}
The SQL generated by this is " UPDATE jos_content_frontpage SET `ordering`='6' WHERE content_id='45' "

What I would like to do is to add a new frontpage item, and not update an existing one. So the SQL should be an INSERT.

Please help!

Stian

SotL
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Problems with JTable::getInstance('frontpage', 'Table');

Post by SotL » Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:34 pm

Hi Stian

table->store() function  depends on the value of "id". I am not 'completely' sure here, but I do believe that unless "id" is empty it produces an update query.

What I mean is that you need to take out:

$table->content_id = 45;

otherwise it will always "update".

The function runs "insert" when id is empty and an update when id has a value already.

I could be wrong, but as far as I know that is how it works.

Try a little test and see, but I am pretty sure that is the way it works.

Hope this helps

Stian
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by Stian » Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:42 pm