How to disable registration email

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
leetorrens
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

How to disable registration email

Post by leetorrens » Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:55 pm

Searched forums for 'disable registration email' and 'turn off registration email' without success.

I want to stop Joomla 1.5 from sending an email to users when they register. I presume there's a line in a file somewhere that I can comment out to achieve this.

Thanks in advance.

RiCtee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: How to disable registration email

Post by RiCtee » Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:06 am

All you need to do is go into the backend and then Global Configuration -> System -> choose "No" to New User Account Activation.

leetorrens
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by leetorrens » Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:12 am

Thanks for responding, but that's not what I'm after.

Even with Account Activation turned off, users are still sent an email when they register. It's this email, not the activation email, that I want to turn off.

joarvat
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by joarvat » Fri Jul 04, 2008 9:45 am

I am also wanting to know this. Someone may wonder why I would want to disable this. But the fact is that email is not a very secure way of sending out login information. When I set someone up as a super admin for example, I want to avoid that email going out, because if someone snaps up the superadmin username/password, they can do a lot of damage. Call me paranoid, but I think one should take precautions.

I suppose one way of doing this is to