Tableless template

Discuss the development and implementation of Joomla! 1.0.x templates here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
SyntheticShield
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Tableless template

Post by SyntheticShield » Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:38 pm

Hey all.  I got a question.  Im still fairly new to Joomla but Im kinda liking the tableless CSS designed pages and would like to try one if for no other reason than just for kicks and the learning experience.

What Im trying to find now is how do you include the Joomla components with a tableless design, can anyone post a snippet or something like that to kind of get me started?

Also, I know most of what I read in tableless designs uses 2 or 3 column type set ups.  Is it possible to create say like a head section and then down below that two or three colums and a footer section.

Could I do something like the following:

#headercontent {}

#leftcontent {}

#middlecontent {}

#rightcontent {}

#footercontent{}

Am I going in the right direction?  If so all I would need then is just a snippet of how to include the Joomla modules.  Thanks for any help and direction.

0wn4g3
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Tableless template

Post by 0wn4g3 » Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:09 pm

This ought to help you out one way or another http://www.mambosolutions.com/dw_tutorial/

SyntheticShield
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by SyntheticShield » Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:21 pm

I looked at that, but I didnt see anything about inserting Joomla content in a tableless design, did I miss something?  That tutorial is all about setting up a template using tables which I want to be purely CSS.  Maybe I just overlooked something so if that is the case help me out and accept my apologies for the trouble.

0wn4g3
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by 0wn4g3 » Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:05 pm