Trying to get continuous music on site....

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
cmcsweeney
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Trying to get continuous music on site....

Post by cmcsweeney » Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:31 am

Hi,

I am working on a site wherein the client has asked me to include music. I was able to do this with "Premium beat player", but with each new page click the music reloads (which might be kind of irritating because this will be an e-commerce site, which could have endless 'links' of content).

What I want to find out is if anyone knows anything that would allow music to play uninterrupted during the time someone is on the site.

I saw another forum that mentioned that a php function could (theoretically) be used to call in the music player from elsewhere. This sounded like a great idea except that while I can rearrange preexisting PHP code, I haven't the first clue how to write it from scratch.

The test site can be found here: http://www.mcsweeneydesign.com/Joomlatest/ (note: ignore the look/placement of the music player, it's all going to be changed once I get the designer's mockup)

cmcsweeney
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Trying to get continuous music on site....

Post by cmcsweeney » Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:38 pm

Update:
Ok, a friend of mine found a way around it. I'm writing my findings here in case there are other people with this issue (and it wouldn't be fair of me to ask for an answer, then withhold my findings from others).

It's not my favourite solution, but here it is: