Media Manager error - unable to upload file

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
beebee
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Media Manager error - unable to upload file

Post by beebee » Sun May 17, 2009 10:15 pm

Hi all,

New to Joomla and first time using the discussion forum...

I've been playing around in 1.5.10 for a couple months and all has been working great. However, in the last 24 hours I can no longer upload images using the Media Manager. I now get the error message:

"JFTP::store: Bad response Warning: Failed to move file! Error. Unable to upload file."

There's plenty of space left on the server and I haven't made any changes on my end such as upgrading my browser.

Anyone having the same problem or have ideas on how to fix?

Thanks

mandville
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Media Manager error - unable to upload file

Post by mandville » Mon May 18, 2009 1:05 am

has your host done something to change permissions?
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be reported, added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{VEL Team Leader}{TM Auditor }{ Showcase & Security forums Moderator}

MarinaBlue
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by MarinaBlue » Mon May 18, 2009 1:20 am

I have the same problem with the templates. The Install tool works fine on the local site, but would not send the stuff online... So I upload them manually with FTP (actually I use Dreamweaver) but any basic FTP can do. The same way, you simply upload your image files on the site but be careful to put them in the right folder (normally it should be Stories in joomla).

Hope this helps :pop
In the joomla, the mighty joomla, the lion sleeps tonight