Charset/Encoding problems using Gallery

Discuss the development and implementation of Joomla! modules here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Jaxe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Charset/Encoding problems using Gallery

Post by Jaxe » Thu Sep 08, 2005 6:09 pm

Hi guys,

after aprox. 2 week of debuggin, I've found the source of my charset problem. I'm using danish letters "æ,"ø","å" which is supported by the iso-8859-1 charset.See the change in the "Latest Event module - buttom left.

My frontpage ( using ver 4.5.2.3 )  http://www.whacked.dk looks fine, but as soon as is enter the embedded Gallery (Menalto ver. 2-rc2 ) it changes charset to UTF-8. The result is charset problems on the rest of the site ( but not i Gallery! ).

Its really stange. Im using the com_gallery2_v2.0.6.1 to embed the Gallery. The same problem occours when the mod_gallery_block-v2.3 and mod_galleryside_v2.3.

Looking deeper into the components, they use alle make use of global $iso_client_lang,$mosConfig_locale and i suspekt the problem lies in userfuncs.php:

Code: Select all

/*
 *language function
 * $iso_client_lang = mabelfish iso valua, may be empty
 * $mosConfig_locale = default mambo language
 */
function switchlang($iso_client_lang, $mosConfig_locale){
	if(!empty($iso_client_lang)){
		$lang = strtolower($iso_client_lang);
		$lang = G2helperclass::landtolang($lang);
	} else {
		$lang = substr ($mosConfig_locale, 0, 2); //pick first 2	
	}
	return trim($lang);
}

/*
 * function for replacing land iso code with language iso code used by switchlang function
 * possible update to use string(5) iso code
 */
function landtolang($lang){
	//make a list of lands the have a not corresponding iso codes
	$array = array();
	$array['gb'] = 'en';
	$array['us'] = 'en';