any introduction/examples with patTemplates in Joomla 1.1

A general technical discussion area for patTemplate.
magentait
I've been banned!

any introduction/examples with patTemplates in Joomla 1.1

Post by magentait » Sat Mar 11, 2006 5:20 pm

I'm a Joomla template developer, and I've been looking at the patTemplate webpage (http://www.php-tools.net/). But I can't find any good documentation on how to implement patTemplates in Joomla, and why on earth using patTemplates? Could anyone give me some good examples and documentation on how to start developing patTemplates in Joomla?

Is the Joomla patTemplate library finished?

Is it an easy way to convert Joomla 1.0.x templates to patTemplates (Joomla 1.1)?

ianmac
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: any introduction/examples with patTemplates in Joomla 1.1

Post by ianmac » Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:29 pm

Hi,

The patTemplate library is primarily for component and module development at this point.  It is not really the same thing as Joomla! Templates.  patTemplates are used in components so that business logic and presentation logic can be separated.

It sounds like you are talking more about Joomla! Template development, which I don't think has altogether changed that much, though I've never done serious template development (only minor modification to existing templates).  To see how 1.1 templates are structured you might look at the template included in the 1.1 release, though I don't know how updated it is.

Ian

Scribe
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by Scribe » Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:50 pm

From what I've seen in the 1.1 templates the structure of tempates has changed to be more 'template' oriented. Rather than using lots of included PHP code containing things like mosLoadModules it contains things like . The included template that I saw did still have a bit of php code for conditional layout based on the old mosCountModules routine.