Joomla Accessible

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
lw-d
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 980
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:12 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Joomla Accessible

Post by lw-d » Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:32 pm

How come the Design, Accessibility, Standards & Usability forum is closed, most important forum to me right now.

Anyway, I have an existing joomla! site (v1.0.7), I was wondering if it possible to patch this site with the files from Accessible Joomla! 1.0.7-0.2

Does anybody know if there is a guide, or does it have to be a freash installation, also, with Accessible Joomla! will all my modules and components work?

Thanks.

User avatar
torkil
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:34 am
Location: Rørvik, Norway
Contact:

Re: Joomla Accessible

Post by torkil » Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:35 pm

1) download a8e Joomla from the forge: http://forge.joomla.org/sf/projects/accessible_joomla
2) backup your site (always a good thing to do)
3) Upload the patched files

... all done

You'll will have to modify your CSS a bit since a8e Joomla and regular Joomla does not output the same code.

lw-d
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 980
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:12 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Joomla Accessible

Post by lw-d » Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:37 pm

Thanks, got a site going live this week, I have made it accessible as far as I can with Joomla!, removing all talbe will be a big bonus.

Thanks so much :)

User avatar
torkil
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:34 am
Location: Rørvik, Norway
Contact:

Re: Joomla Accessible

Post by torkil » Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:40 pm

Its not a big patch as far as I can remember. Less than 10 files if I am not mistaken. So it is easy to just back up those files and give it a go :)

http://www.bedre.no runs a8e Joomla! btw, so you can check out the code output there if you want to.

lw-d
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 980
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:12 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Joomla Accessible

Post by lw-d » Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:41 pm

Thats awesome, shouldn't take to long then.

Thanks.

User avatar
nathandiehl
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6044
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:03 pm
Location: Indiana, USA
Contact:

Re: Joomla Accessible

Post by nathandiehl » Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:43 pm

it is likely closed for upgrades. check back soon...
If you're new to Joomla, Please read Anna's Joomla! Tips: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=5503

http://nathandiehl.com | Find out what makes me tick

castus
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: Joomla Accessible

Post by castus » Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:46 pm

http://www.bedre.com still has tables in it. I remember vavroom saying how it doesn't remove all tables, but does help a lot.

I have minimal tables in my joomla site, but the aren't all gone.

The removal of all tables will require developers to be quite intimate with CSS, as everything will have to given it's attribute via CSS. Obviously a lot of people still develop with tables, as it's easy to do through WYSIWYG editors.

Wordpress looks very good, I'm not sure if it's as good as joomla with regard to user types and administration, but the output on any site using wordpress is fantastic and fully accessible code.

lw-d
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 980
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:12 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Joomla Accessible

Post by lw-d » Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:51 pm

Any update with a8e for j! v1.0.9

Thanks.

User avatar
torkil
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:34 am
Location: Rørvik, Norway
Contact:

Re: Joomla Accessible

Post by torkil » Mon Jun 12, 2006 7:48 am

castus wrote: http://www.bedre.com still has tables in it. I remember vavroom saying how it doesn't remove all tables, but does help a lot.

I have minimal tables in my joomla site, but the aren't all gone.

The removal of all tables will require developers to be quite intimate with CSS, as everything will have to given it's attribute via CSS. Obviously a lot of people still develop with tables, as it's easy to do through WYSIWYG editors.

Wordpress looks very good, I'm not sure if it's as good as joomla with regard to user types and administration, but the output on any site using wordpress is fantastic and fully accessible code.

Its bedre.no, and yes: It does still have some tables in it.

I am also wondering about a8e for 1.0.9. I see now that the 1.0.8 patch came out on the 17th of May, so the next version is hopefully on it's way.


Locked

Return to “General Questions - 1.0.x”