[SOLVED]Could not connect to database. Please check your c

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! version 1.5.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
marde
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

[SOLVED]Could not connect to database. Please check your c

Postby marde » Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:33 am

I'm running kickstart and trying to restore my .jpa file from my xampp to a live host.
Everything seems OK in the DB Restore phase as follows:

Database type (usually "mysql"): mysql
Database server host name: localhost
User name: root
Password: ********
Database name: joomla18

These values agree precisely with what's listed in databases.ini in the installation\sql directory,
yet I keep getting the message, <b>Could not connect to database. Please check your connection parameters.</b>

Thanks very much to anyone for a clue to what's going on.
Last edited by marde on Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

aemiller
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Could not connect to database. Please check your connect

Postby aemiller » Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:32 am

Don't feel bad, your frustration is one that many of us shared when trying to learn Joomla. >:(

When moving from a localhost to an online server, you need four specific settings for your configuration.php file to properly connect the database. They are

1) dbhost (this one can be tricky. Some webhosts locate the db somewhere other than where the joomla files are located. If nothing else, ask you isp tech.);

2) db name (this should be available in looking at phpMyAdmin, although there may be a prefix attached to it. Again, if necessary ask your isp tech);