Joomla! 1.5 End Of Life and other questions

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
guandalino
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by guandalino » Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:54 pm

Hello from a newcomer!

Now that Joomla! 1.6 is almost out I have some questions... first of all, when will version 1.5 be discontinued? I mean, given that sooner or later Joomla! developement team won't release updates for 1.5 anymore, when could this event hypotetically happen? I'm interested not to be left on my own with an unmaintained framework if I decide to use extensions for Joomla! 1.5 in future projects.

Then I'm wondering if I should start to develop Joomla! extensions for 1.5 or 1.6. This also will influence the choice on which development book to buy. What's your opinion?

Thanks,
best regards.

pxforti
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Joomla! 1.5 End Of Life and other questions

Post by pxforti » Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:45 pm

I still have users on Joomla 1.0.x and it continues to work fine. Joomla 1.5 will be around and strong for several years since Joomla 1.6 is not even released yet. And once it's released, it's adoption speed will depend on the speed in which the extension developers upgrade their software to work with Joomla 1.6.

But if I were a Joomla extension developer creating an new extension, I'd probably develop it for 1.6, unless you need it right away.
Joomla Website Design / CS-Cart Website Design
http://writenowdesign.com

techiherrald
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by techiherrald » Tue Aug 24, 2010 2:19 pm

i hope that Joomla 1.5 is not discontinued now, because its hard for me to learn again for the newest version.