Need modified Login Form Module: External User Validation

Everything to do with Joomla! 1.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
aehanson
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Need modified Login Form Module: External User Validation

Post by aehanson » Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:10 pm

My organization uses Joomla to create the public facing part of our web presence. However, we manage our membership on a Z2 Systems NEON platform.

I need to be able to allow users on my Joomla site to log in (to allow them to access 'Members Only' features) but want the authentificaton to be something other than the user list maintained in the User Manager section. Here is a description of how I need the module to work:

1) Display the Username and Password field
2) When the Login button is selected, allow my own PHP code to determine whether or not the UserID/Password is valid
3) If it is, act much the way the standard Joomla Login Form module works today.... (i.e, Hide the login fields, display the "Log Out" button and display all of the "Registered User" features that are normally hidden

I'm a competant PHP programmer but not real familiar with how Joomla does things... looking at the code in the modules/mod_login/tmpl directory it was not real obvious to me how I would hack this up to do what I want. I'll go that route if I have to but first I thought I'd check with this forum for advise or (even better) knowledge of an existing module that would allow me to do this (I've looked around and have not found one...).

mpirkle
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Need modified Login Form Module: External User Validatio

Post by mpirkle » Sun Sep 05, 2010 12:57 am

I appreciate your position, Joomla has many, many layers with few clues to track what's going on.