Language Switcher does not display any languages

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
bigJ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:25 pm

Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by bigJ » Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:31 pm

Hi,

I tried to read similar posts, but could not find any resolution.

I installed few languages.
I verified the installation went well by checking the Language Manager, and through the URL (http://localhost/index.php/<langauge-tag>).
I have enabled the Language Filter plug-in, created new Language Switcher module, and assigned to each article its language.

On the user's view (frontend) of the website, i see the Language Switcher title, but no languages nor flags are shown.

Any idea what could be wrong?
Thanks from advanced, BigJ

User avatar
sone12
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5440
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:12 pm
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Contact:

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by sone12 » Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:48 pm

Read this documentation carefully. http://docs.joomla.org/Language_Switche ... Joomla_1.6

PS; Have you remember to make one menuitem as "Home/default" in each of your menus, remember that you shauld have an own menu for each language.
Kristian P. Granrud - Global Moderator

bigJ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:25 pm

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by bigJ » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:29 pm

Thanks for your answer.

I have two different menus, for each language.
I verified it visiting the language URL.
Still, I the Language Switcher displays no languages.

I reviewed your link. Step 3, could not find the "magical menu" (Menu Items Associations) on the screen shot over Joomla (1.7).
Where this menu at?! maybe this will resolve the issue.

User avatar
sone12
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5440
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:12 pm
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Contact:

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by sone12 » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:59 pm

bigJ wrote:I have two different menus, for each language.
And did you remember to mark one menu item on each menu as "Home"?
Kristian P. Granrud - Global Moderator

bigJ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:25 pm

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by bigJ » Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:52 pm

Can you give me a guidance since I don't seem to understand what do you mean?

Thanks again.

User avatar
sone12
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5440
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 1:12 pm
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Contact:

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by sone12 » Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:39 am

bigJ wrote:Can you give me a guidance since I don't seem to understand what do you mean?
Sure.

e.g: backend...Menus => English menu => Look up the collumn name "Home". Click so you got one menu item marked with a "yellow star". Repeat this action on every menu you got for your languages.
Kristian P. Granrud - Global Moderator

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19077
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by infograf768 » Fri Sep 02, 2011 6:02 am

Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

bigJ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:25 pm

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by bigJ » Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:08 am

Thank you for the link. I followed the instructions, did the following:

1. Installed a new fresh joomla 1.7 without sample content.
2. Installed a new language pack.
3. Add new content language.
4. Unpublished the Main Menu module.
5. Added two categories, each of which was assigned to a corresponding installed language.
6. Added two article, each of which was assigned to corresponding category and language.
7. Added two menus, each of which has Single Article menu item assigned to the corresponding article, which was created at the previous step, and assigned the corresponding language.
8. Added two modules for each menu, and a language were assigned.
9. Added Language Switcher module.
10. Language Filter plug-in set to enable, and verified that Menu associations is set to Yes.

At this point, if you preview the site, the Language Switcher module does not display any languages. Also, could not accomplish
http://info-graf.fr/trunk/en/multi-ling ... menu-items

I could not locate this "new menu" anywhere.

bigJ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:25 pm

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by bigJ » Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:27 am

Screenshots:

installed languages
Image

content languages
Image

category manager
Image

article manager
Image

menu manger
Image

menu item
Image

menu item preferences
Image

module manager
Image

language switcher
Image

plug-ins
Image

bigJ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:25 pm

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by bigJ » Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:34 am

I followed sone12 guidance
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?p ... 4#p2603894

and was able to display the languages.
Although, I still do not see this magical menu which discussed above.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19077
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by infograf768 » Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:50 pm

Each of your mainmenu MUST contain a default Home page menu item.
The "normal" mainmenu default home (the one with the unpublished module) should be set to "All"
The maimenu English default home page should be set to English.
The mainmenu Hebrew default home page should be set to Hebrew
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

viks79
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 8:23 am

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by viks79 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 8:42 am

How did you solve this BigJ? Even I'm having same issue ..
Here only difference in my case is that I only have 2-3 pages which I want to switch language.
So all menu items (including home) is Language 'All' ( as it same for both languages) ,
and the 2 set of menuitems which I have in for multiple languages.

Eg; About us : I need in both languages.. I have 2 about us menu in each langauge, and 2 different articles one associated with each language.. So navigation works fine depending on the language prefix in url

But in this 'about us' page ( for both languages) i need a Language Switcher .. I activated it and the Language Switcher dropdown is visible , but it's still have no items in it.

Of course these languages are there in language Manager-> content , and in language switcher plugin I have 'Language Selection for new Visitors' property as 'site language'

So to me navigation is perfect based on the language.. but switch language doesn't work as these 2 languages are not displayed on dropdown

Any help greatly appreciated

Regards
Viks

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19077
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by infograf768 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:21 am

Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

kwoolf
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:49 pm

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by kwoolf » Sun Nov 06, 2011 5:20 pm

Followed these instructions as well to no avail. I was revisiting Joomla 1.7 for a new English/Chinese site, but this multilingual setup is ridiculously complex. Give a note to the genius who designed this function to let him or her know we need an official road map.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19077
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by infograf768 » Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:12 am

You are welcome to propose a full coded solution that would be as much legacy compatible as possible.

Until we get into framework the Unified Content, which is forecasted for the series 3.0->3.5, it is impossible to code something "ridiculously simple".
:pop
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

kwoolf
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:49 pm

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by kwoolf » Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:41 am

I see what you mean about being compatible with older versions of Joomla. The prioritization process is beyond me, but if I could help you code I definitely would. It just seems that all new platform services these days bring up localization in an afterthought instead of in the core functionality. Joomla, Wordpress, Adobe BC, Freshbooks, and the list goes on. I wonder when the West will wake up and realize that there is a lot of business conducted in languages other than English. It's just been a pain in the ass learning dozens of platforms only to find that they are not suitable multilingual solutions. Magento comes closest and is actually very good in this department, but it has a host of other issue I won't go into here.

Anyway, a tips for users implementing Joomla 1.7 multilingual site: when selecting the default home pages for each menu (so you'll end up with three mainmenus for a two language site), remember to switch the menu language first, save it, and then select the default home page for that menu; otherwise, an error will occur if you've already selected a home page in another menu for the same language, and Joomla currently won't let you save two menus with the same language and different home page. Kinda weird reading that, but when you get that error, you'll know what I mean. My particular site has one menu for All languages and a set default menu item, another menu for English set to English language with it's own default home page, and the final Chinese menu set to Traditional Chinese with it's own default home page. When creating these menus, the default language will be set to ALL, so you'll need to first save the menu set to your desired language and THEN select your default home page. Get it? Oh that frustrated the hell out of me.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19077
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by infograf768 » Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:32 am

I do agree with you that we inherited from Mambo and that multilanguage has been and add-on.
This is why we, the non-English speaking natives, have fought for years to improve this.
1.6/1.7/2.5 is a real improvement over former 1.0 and 1.5 versions.
All now can be translated. We got rid of all the hardcoded English stuff, even for errors. We implemented unicode slugs, let language packs customise calendars, plural forms, search length, etc., and a way to make multilanguage sites (for simple sites) out of the box.

As I said above, the 3.x version will bring a new life into Joomla (without some legacy dependancies) and, with the code proposed by the volunteers, I hope we release a clear and relatively simple multilang version.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

kwoolf
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:49 pm

Re: Language Switcher does not display any languages

Post by kwoolf » Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:46 am

Well I'm glad you're winning some ground on this. I guess to make things easier for everybody, even busy Joomla people like you who have to respond to unexperienced people like me, perhaps Joomla could include a preset multilingual setup within the sample data. This removes all the configuration and lots of headaches for the users who need it. Users who don't can just delete it. I'm trying to think of ways to solve problems instead of complain about them, but the frustration of hours spent late night at the glowing box sometimes gets the better of me. Thanks for news on Joomla 3. I hope it arrives sooner rather than later.


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 2.5”