Prevent users changing "Name" in "Edit Your Profile"

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
redpizza
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Prevent users changing "Name" in "Edit Your Profile"

Post by redpizza » Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:08 pm

I've just spent the best part of Saturday evening looking how to disable users from changing their Name in the Edit Your Profile in 1.7, but just can't find out how to do it, or which file to hack to make the field protected/readonly. Pleeese could someone point me in the right direction.

RedEye
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Prevent users changing "Name" in "Edit Your Profile"

Post by RedEye » Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:18 pm

/components/com_user/views/profile/tmpl/edit.php
edit this file or create an override in your template

jmuehleisen
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Post by jmuehleisen » Sun Sep 11, 2011 5:05 am

One of the challenges here will be that the /components/com_user/views/profile/tmpl/edit.php file doesn't handle each field in the profile individually ... it takes the approach of "loop through all of the fields and put them up there for editing."

Code: Select all

34  <?php foreach ($fields as $field):// Iterate through the fields in the set and display them.?>
So, the question then becomes, where is it getting the list of field names to put up there?

And the answer is, in this file:

/components/com_users/models/forms/profile.xml
This file lists each of the fields in the user profile and defines how they should be handled when doing an "edit your profile."