[RESOLVED/NOT BUG] newsfeeds component stopped working

Locked
althoffm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:55 am

[RESOLVED/NOT BUG] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by althoffm » Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:50 pm

Description:
Newsfeeds have stopped working after upgrading from 1.08 to 1.09 Timeout on "CGI Error The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers. The headers it did return are:"

Reported on:
Joomla! 1.0.9 Stable [ Sunshine ] 05 June 2006 16:00 UTC

Classification:
High

Affected functions:
Component Newsfeeds

Related files:
Seems related to http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,55563.0.html however 1.08 gave no problems at all.

Steps to replicate:
http://www.cycloongroep.nl/ Pick any newsfeeds from the menu.

Analysis:
No other comments

Proposed fix(es):
I have send my hosting provider an e-mail about the 4.4.2 version running of PHP. Upgrading to 4.4.3 might do the trick, strange however the 1.08 version had no problems at all.

Topic / Artifact ID:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,55563.0.html

System info:
PHP built On:  Windows NT net3-nl-iis-14 5.0 build 2195 
PHP Version:  4.4.2 
Web Server:  Microsoft-IIS/5.0 
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.9 Stable [ Sunshine ] 05 June 2006 16:00 UTC 
Last edited by althoffm on Sat Sep 22, 2007 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by infograf768 » Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:32 am

PHP 4.4.2 is a known issue.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by Robin » Wed Jun 07, 2006 7:26 am

Hi Althoffm,

Thanks for the report, I'll check with some basic tests on php 4.4.2 and 5.x. See if the php really is causing this so we can mark this as [KNOWN ISSUE].

Regards Robin

althoffm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:55 am

Re: newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by althoffm » Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:22 pm

RobInk wrote: Hi Althoffm, Thanks for the report, I'll check with some basic tests on php 4.4.2 and 5.x. See if the php really is causing this so we can mark this as [KNOWN ISSUE].
We have contacted out Internet Service provider and they have switched our domain back to PHP 5.xx. We have done some testing on Joombla and the components we are using which is looking good, no errors found. Newsfeeds are up again.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by infograf768 » Sun Jun 11, 2006 3:06 pm

I guess this is solved then. One less.  ;)
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

althoffm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:55 am

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by althoffm » Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:51 pm

infograf768 wrote: I guess this is solved then. One less.  ;)
Can this be opened again? Our provider updated PHP to 5.1.4. Newsfeeds are working but I found some errors in the media manager and in our HTML editor for which I will post a Q&T later. I have asked our ISP to set us back to PHP 4.4.2 to see if these problems resolved to be sure those errors are PHP 5.1.4 related. After setting us back the errors in media manager and HTML editor wend away but no newsfeeds. The problem is that there is no 4.4.3 stable yet to install and PHP 5.1.4 is giving us errors on other elements.
Last edited by althoffm on Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [RESOLVED] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by Robin » Wed Jun 14, 2006 7:10 pm

Hi,

I would be happy to re-open this issue, but would we be able to provice a solution? If the php version is really the problem?

althoffm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:55 am

Re: [RESOLVED] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by althoffm » Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:38 pm

RobInk wrote: Hi, I would be happy to re-open this issue, but would we be able to provice a solution? If the php version is really the problem?
Tonight we have downgraded Joomla 1.09 back to 1.08 by reverse patching the files from the Joomla_1.0.8_to_1.0.9-Stable-Patch_Package.zip by creating our own Joomla_1.0.9_to_1.0.8-Downgrade-Patch_Package.zip. That is the only thing we have done together with reinstalling the Dutch language pack for 1.08 to downgrade. We are now running Joomla 1.08 again on PHP 4.4.2 without newsfeed problems. Our newsfeeds are under the menu option from  http://www.cycloongroep.nl
Newsfeeds Not working:
--------------------------------------------------------------
PHP Version:  4.4.2 
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.9 Stable [ Sunshine ] 05 June 2006 16:00 UTC 

Newsfeeds Working before update and after downgrade:
--------------------------------------------------------------
PHP Version:  4.4.2 
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.8 Stable [ Sunshade ] 26-Feb-2006 05:00 UTC 


Also some other issues we had running 1.09 as the lost pathway on content blog items disappeared. No offence but at this moment were better off running 1.08 but I will soon try to build a like our ISP like simulation to keep monitoring 1.09.
Last edited by althoffm on Sat Sep 22, 2007 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

watersand2021
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:21 am

Re: [RESOLVED] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by watersand2021 » Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:35 am

Hi

I have just done a fresh hosted install of Joomla 1.0.9 with PHP 4.4.2 onto a PC and am getting the following error when trying to access a news group that I have just setup:-

CGI Error
The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers.

The news feed is http://www.prweb.com/rss2/podcastingtools.xml

Any ideas on how to get this to work?  Should I ask my ISP to change the PHP version or is there another issue?

Thx!
Jon

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [RESOLVED] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by Robin » Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:52 am

Hi althoffm,

I am re-opening this topic due to the info you provided:
Newsfeeds Not working:
--------------------------------------------------------------
PHP Version:  4.4.2
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.9 Stable [ Sunshine ] 05 June 2006 16:00 UTC

Newsfeeds Working before update and after downgrade:
--------------------------------------------------------------
PHP Version:  4.4.2
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.8 Stable [ Sunshade ] 26-Feb-2006 05:00 UTC 
I will need to test this to confirm the newsfeeds working on php 4.4.2. and J! 1.0.8. and compare this to your report that news feeds are not working on the same php with J! 1.0.9.

Note/P.S.: Topic status changed to UNDER REVIEW. Note the system info, IIS 5.0!
Last edited by Robin on Fri Jun 16, 2006 6:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

althoffm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:55 am

Re: [RESOLVED] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by althoffm » Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:19 am

RobInk wrote: I will need to test this to confirm the newsfeeds working on php 4.4.2. and J! 1.0.8. and compare this to your report that news feeds are not working on the same php with J! 1.0.9. Note/P.S.: Topic status changed to UNDER REVIEW. Note the system info, IIS 5.0!
Hi Rob,

I found some time and created an second research and developed environment at home this one using IIS5 and PHP 4.4.2. Currently this is running 1.08 and newsfeeds are working, as soon as I upgrade using the upgrade patch files to 1.09 or 1.010 the newsfeeds stop working.

althoffm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:55 am

Re: [RESOLVED] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by althoffm » Mon Jul 10, 2006 11:37 am

I found some time and created an second research and developed environment at home this one using IIS5 and PHP 4.4.2. Currently this is running 1.08 and newsfeeds are working, as soon as I upgrade using the upgrade patch files to 1.09 or 1.010 the newsfeeds stop working.
Rob can you tell how the fopen calls are coded into the core. I have installed Joomla 1.0.10 on my Windows test environment using PHP 4.4.2. After setting "allow_url_fopen = Off" in php.ini the newsfeeds are working.

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by Robin » Mon Jul 10, 2006 1:25 pm

Hi,

The fopen command is used 67 times in 24 files, also in includes\feedcreator.class.php/711: $feedFile = fopen($filename, "w+");

Will this be enough info for you to continue with?

althoffm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:55 am

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by althoffm » Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:10 pm

RobInk wrote: Hi, The fopen command is used 67 times in 24 files, also in includes\feedcreator.class.php/711: $feedFile = fopen($filename, "w+");
Will this be enough info for you to continue with?
Hi Rob,

Sorry for keeping you waiting been sick for a couple of days. I have been working around the fopen problem on PHP 4.4.2. I have looked at several files to find a solution. I can read and understand some code however I’m not very into PHP programming yet so this has lead to a dead end. I have replaced some of the related files from 1.08 over the 1.0.10 to pin point the files where it might go wrong but without luck.

Today I have downloaded the snapshot PHP Version 4.4.3RC3-dev Build Date Jul 18 2006 06:12:28 and placed it on my Windows test environment. Seems the problem is solved in 4.4.3, and RC3 looks promising of a soon to be release of the stable 4.4.3.

roger_jg
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:33 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by roger_jg » Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:48 am

Dear all,

This topic is a bit hard to follow,

i have installed Joomla 1.0.10 and was reaching the point of setting the newsfeeds when i found out that if the newsfeed names are on my page, there is no news in the newsfeed... :'(

So could we have some kind of official statement on the newsfeed working or not because I am turning mad trying to install/reinstall joomla on various server to test if I am doing something wrong or if simply the newsfeed module does not work  ???

Is it possible to download one somewhere?

Thx a lot

~R

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by infograf768 » Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:08 am

@roger_jg

The component is indeed working on most set-ups.
Please state here your system info:
PHP version, etc.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

roger_jg
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:33 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by roger_jg » Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:29 am

Hi

I am currently trying to set my site on http://www.netfast.org and http://www.byethost.com

On netfast
PHP built On:    Linux netfast.org 2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp #1 SMP Thu Feb 9 08:38:33 UTC 2006 x86_64
Database Version: 4.1.11-Debian_4sarge4-log
PHP Version:           4.3.10-16
Web Server:         Apache/2.0.54 (Debian GNU/Linux) PHP/4.3.10-16 mod_perl/2.0.2 Perl/v5.8.4
WebServer to PHP interface: apache2handler
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.0.10 Stable [ Sundown ] 26 June 2006 00:00 UTC
User Agent:           Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.5) Gecko/20060719 Firefox/1.5.0.5

MySQL Support enabled
Client API version 4.0.24

On Byethost

PHP built On:  Linux byethost10.com 2.6.8-2-686 #1 Tue Aug 16 13:22:48 UTC 2005 i686
Database Version: 4.1.11-Debian_4sarge5-log
PHP Version: 5.1.4
Web Server: NOYB
WebServer to PHP interface: apache2handler
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.0.10 Stable [ Sundown ] 26 June 2006 00:00 UTC
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.5) Gecko/20060719 Firefox/1.5.0.5


MySQL Support enabled
Client API version 4.1.11



In both case I get empty newsfeed.

I am also try on awardspace but there the problem is defferent.. .I can't get Joomla to work. Passed the installation, i can't get to the Admin or teh site, I get an Error 500.
Last edited by roger_jg on Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

roger_jg
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:33 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by roger_jg » Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:33 am

Sorry I sent it before completing it.

you can see both sites here:

http://peripheries.netfast.org/index.ph ... s&Itemid=7

http://thainaids.byethost10.com/joomla/ ... s&Itemid=7

Thx
~R

roger_jg
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:33 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by roger_jg » Fri Aug 04, 2006 4:27 am

roger_jg wrote: Sorry I sent it before completing it.

you can see both sites here:

http://peripheries.netfast.org/index.ph ... s&Itemid=7

http://thainaids.byethost10.com/joomla/ ... s&Itemid=7

Thx
~R

Well, i have tried 3 hosts and 2 differents version of Joomla and still no news in the Feed... any suggestion?

Other are reporting the same problem:
http://developer.joomla.org/sf/go/artf5250?nav=1

~R
Last edited by roger_jg on Fri Aug 04, 2006 4:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

althoffm
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:55 am

[SOLVED] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by althoffm » Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:10 pm

althoffm wrote: Description: Newsfeeds have stopped working after upgrading from 1.08 to 1.09 Timeout on "CGI Error The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers. The headers it did return are:"
PHP has been updated on our hosting site to 4.4.3, newsfeeds problems due to the fopen bug in PHP 4.4.2 have been resolved on both Joomla 1.09 and 1.0.10.

roger_jg
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:33 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by roger_jg » Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:41 am

My Webhost run PHP5 and the newsfeeds or any other newsfeed modules I have tried (feedgator, fetchrss, and 3 mores) do not work...

~R

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: [SOLVED] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by infograf768 » Fri Aug 11, 2006 8:30 am

althoffm wrote:
althoffm wrote: Description: Newsfeeds have stopped working after upgrading from 1.08 to 1.09 Timeout on "CGI Error The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers. The headers it did return are:"
PHP has been updated on our hosting site to 4.4.3, newsfeeds problems due to the fopen bug in PHP 4.4.2 have been resolved on both Joomla 1.09 and 1.0.10.
It is trongly suggested to upgrade ASAP any 1.0.9 site.  ;)
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] newsfeeds component stopped working

Post by Robin » Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:03 am

Q&T Note:
PHP has been updated on our hosting site to 4.4.3, newsfeeds problems due to the fopen bug in PHP 4.4.2 have been resolved on both Joomla 1.09 and 1.0.10.
Marking topic Resolved/Not bug (was php related). Moving to Resolved.


Locked

Return to “Q&T 1.0.x Resolved - Archived”