Joomla VS Wordpress??

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
pxforti
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Joomla VS Wordpress??

Post by pxforti » Sat Nov 26, 2011 2:26 pm

Can't answer your question about security, but here are my observations. Both programs and great, but I'd say Joomla is a more mature CMS while WordPress is a GREAT blog that has been "stretched" into a CMS, meaning that rather than rewrite wordpress as a full blown CMS, it's been modified to make it accomodate more and more CMS functions.

As a result, both apps will more or less do the same thing. However, wordpress requires what I call hacks to that require adding code to several files just to add "sidebars" to an area outside the normal sidebar area or the add a second menu.

The sidebars are a perfect example of wordpress stretching. Rather than change wordpress so it can have positions in a template where you can add things like menus, custom html code blocks, login, search, etc, they modified sidebar so you can have more than one and it can go in multiple places, but it's still called "sidebar" even though it may be in the footer or the header or anywhere.

Joomla, on the other hand, makes it very simple to add positions to a template and then you can add calendars, logins, search boxes, custom html code, etc.

Here are a few more things that keep me from using WordPress for anything other than a blog:

#1: The editor in wordpress sucks and it strips out html code. Joomla's JCE content editor extension is years ahead of the WP editor.
2: When you add a custom html widget in WP, there is NO wysiwyg editor. WTF?