Custom 404 - status code and error.php - help please

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
RobiCog
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Custom 404 - status code and error.php - help please

Post by RobiCog » Sun Jan 15, 2012 9:10 pm

(Joomla 1.7.3)

Hello,

I haven't been able to find a conclusive answer for this one in previous forum posts. Please help.

Google keeps showing old and non existent links as errors on my site. Recently learned that my custom 404 error page was not raising the required http status code 404 and hence causing long lists of 'not found' errors in google webmaster tools.

I have followed the instructions in the joomla documentation and have my error page set up in correct place.
Seems to be some debate about correct code to insert in the error.php file.

Official documentation says this code is correct (code sample - a)

defined( ‘_JEXEC’ ) or die( ‘Restricted access’ );
if (($this->error->getCode()) == '404') {
header(‘Location: /index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=157′);
exit;
}
?>

It doesn't work for me.

I found this code does (code sample - b)

defined( '_JEXEC' ) or die( 'Restricted index access' );
header('Location: ' . $this->baseurl . 'index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=157');
exit;
}

1. Is the code sample b above okay to use?

2. I see others claim both sets of code are wrong and will not deliver the required 404 status code. Could someone confirm or correct this?

Thanks in advance.

Robi

RobiCog
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Revised: Custom 404 - status code and error.php - help pleas

Post by RobiCog » Thu Jan 19, 2012 4:27 pm