SOLVED Database connection error (3)

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
tsfirefly
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

SOLVED Database connection error (3)

Post by tsfirefly » Sun Feb 26, 2012 6:00 am

I created my website on localhost, uploaded it to the remote server, everything is fine. Website is live and working perfectly. Last night it was all just fine on localhost, too.

However, tonight I tried to make minor changes on localhost only, but I can no longer access it. I get the error message "Database connection error (3): Could not connect to database." I've searched the forums but haven't found an instance where the website is working on the remote server but NOT localhost.

I've checked my configuration.php file on localhost, and everything looks just fine. I've made no changes in the past 24 hours.

If it helps, the live site is http://www.calnevaleague.com. But my issue is on localhost only.

What should I do?

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by humvee on Sat Aug 18, 2012 11:14 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Marked as resolved as per OP

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Database connection error (3) -- but last night it was f

Post by toivo » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:28 am

The error code 3 means that Joomla can connect to the MySQL server using the username and password from the database settings, but is unable to select the database. In other words, the database name could be wrong or the user does not have access to that particular database.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator
troubleshooting smtp and other articles https://talikka.com/joomla

brn2drv99
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by brn2drv99 » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:28 am