Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu item

General questions relating to Joomla! 2.5. Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5. There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.
Locked
llau34
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:29 pm

Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu item

Post by llau34 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:37 pm

Hi there,

We have installed a new Joomla 2.5.8 site on a Windows 2008 server, with PHP Version 5.3.17. We are also running a Plesk interface to manage our websites.

Everytime we try to edit or create a new menu item we get that 500 internal server error.
I hope this is enough information for you to go on, as I could not download your Forum Post Assistant today.

Is this a bug in Joomla 2.5 or do you think it might be server related?

Thanks,
V

monicaclark
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by monicaclark » Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:44 pm

Hey it most likely server related because I am working with some one right now on their site and its Joomla 2.5.8 and we are able to add articles
Thanks,
Monica Clark
Joomla 3.0

llau34
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by llau34 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 7:49 pm

That was a quick post! Thanks for replying Monica.
We can add new articles, but we are unable to add new menu items.
We always get the internal server error.

llau34
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by llau34 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:03 pm

A friendly bump out there to anyone who may have had a similar issue or advice on how to resolve this issue.... :)

llau34
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by llau34 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:55 pm

and here is an error log message if it helps:

Code: Select all

2012-12-05 20:44:55 W3SVC12 WIN-OHGM81TADUF 69.10.130.90 GET /administrator/index.php option=com_menus&view=item&layout=edit&menutype=aboutjoomla 80 - 184.71.15.166 HTTP/1.1 Mozilla/5.0+(Windows+NT+6.1;+WOW64;+rv:17.0)+Gecko/17.0+Firefox/17.0 __utma=163276388.647905493.1354564768.1354564768.1354564768.1;+__utmz=163276388.1354564768.1.1.utmcsr=(direct)|utmccn=(direct)|utmcmd=(none);+jpanesliders_panel-sliders=0;+jpanesliders_sliders=0;+configuration=site;+jpanesliders_permissions-sliders=0;+36f317c7eba893b81a89da488bf333e2=0a96f2d17472fa9407a6341955861b44 http://oursever.com/administrator/index.php?option=com_menus&view=item&layout=edit&menutype=aboutjoomla oursever.com 500 0 0 1705 860 3188
Thanks...

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1133
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by pvh123 » Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:46 pm

I see from your diagnostic info that the menutype you are using " about " something.
The url is incorrect beause of the spaces in between.
Can you try to set a menu item with a diffrent menutype like blog catagory under articles?
It is interesting to see if that workes.
Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

llau34
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by llau34 » Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:59 pm

Hi, Thanks for replying!
That was just the default "About Joomla" menu that I was just trying to add a menu item to see if it would work. I seem to be getting this internal 500 error whether adding a new menu item to any existing menu and also when trying to edit an existing menu item...
I can't even add a new menu item...

mywebsite.com/administrator/index.php?option=com_menus&view=item&layout=edit&menutype=mainmenu gives an internal server error...."The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request."

This website was created through a Plesk panel interface on a Windows 2008 server....

llau34
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by llau34 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 7:45 pm

The URL when trying to edit an existing menu item is: /administrator/index.php?option=com_menus&task=item.edit&id=238

Is "item.edit" not the right way to edit a menu item?

Also when trying to add a new menu item to the main menu, I'm getting this error now:

Code: Select all

Firefox can't find the file at http://ourwebsite.com/administrator/index.php?option=com_menus&view=item&layout=edit&menutype=mainmenu.
It's really strange, as the administrator/components/com_menus/views/item/tmpl 3 edit files are there as well.

I'm not 100% familiar with how the Joomla framework calls the menu component, but would there be any other files that I should be checking?

Thanks, I appreciate it.
V.

llau34
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by llau34 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:02 pm

Here's a more detailed error message using Internet Explorer:

Code: Select all

PHP Warning: is_file(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(\metadata.xml) is not within the allowed path(s):
And here's my current PHP settings:

Code: Select all

Safe Mode 	Off
Open basedir 	C:/Inetpub/vhosts/ourwebsitefolder\;C:\Windows\Temp\
Display Errors 	Off
Short Open Tags 	On
File Uploads 	On
Magic Quotes 	Off
Register Globals 	Off
Output Buffering 	On
Session Save Path 	C:\Windows\Temp
Session Auto Start 	0
XML Enabled 	Yes
Zlib Enabled 	Yes
Native ZIP Enabled 	Yes
Disabled Functions 	None
Mbstring Enabled 	Yes
Iconv Available 	Yes 

llau34
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by llau34 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:19 pm

Hi there,

I've fixed the issue, it was a setting in Plesk that needed to be changed:
open_basedir : from "default" to "{webspaceroot}\;{TMP}\;"

Hope this helps someone else with the same problem!

mr_ace
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:20 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by mr_ace » Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:41 pm

Hi Everyone

I've tried as llau34 suggested but open_basedir is set to "{WEBSPACEROOT}\;{TMP}\;" already so it doesn't work for me.
Then I realized that I heard someone said in other thread related to internal server error that it have to set error_reporting in Plesk to "E_All & ~E_Notice" then voila :D . It works like a charm.
Now I have no Internal Server Error since.

Hope this help someone else.

Edit: it seems that This isn't a permanent fix since I still have to change the value of error_reporting every time I enter admin page.

User avatar
pvh123
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1133
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by pvh123 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:34 am

Hi,
As these error reporting settings are php.ini settings, I was wondering if you cannot go " around " Plesk and change these settings in the php.ini file?
Bear in mind that I do not know Plesk ;-)
Note: Sending me private messages for personal support, without this been requested, would lead to ignoring any of your posts in future!

J00mlaAgent
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 10:23 am

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by J00mlaAgent » Wed Oct 09, 2013 10:30 am

Hello,
Using Plesk 11, I was able to change both open_basedir and error_reporting as above but that didn't work. Plesk 11 didn't change the error_reporting the right way.

As pvh123 said, I have changed that by modifying the php.ini under
C:\Program Files\Parallels\Plesk\Additional\PleskPHP53 (get your version path)

It then worked fine,
Thanks for all

JennyH
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:47 am

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by JennyH » Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:40 pm

I have installed Joomla 3.2. It is successfully installed.

But i have got Internal Sever Error while creating new menu in Joomla backend. When I click on new button for add new menu then I get Internal Server Error
"The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator to inform of the time the error occurred and of anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log."

klintok
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 4:17 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by klintok » Mon Apr 28, 2014 4:24 pm

I have recently installed Joomla 3.2, and was encountering the same issue with adding menu items. I am running Windows Server 2008 R2, with Plesk interface and PHP 5.4. I already had the values set for open_basedir and changed error_reporting but it did not help.

I followed pvh123's advice and everything is working right now.

Sorry, to resurrect such an old thread, but the advice worked for me and I just wanted to share an updated response for others.

djwg
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:08 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by djwg » Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:41 pm

I made all the changes suggested above but I was unsure how to do pvh123's advice.

I am operating in Godaddy and Plesk. Can anyone give me some advide on the "go around" php.ini solution in this environment? I need easy clear instructions! Not much fun in Joomla when you cannot add menu's and only get 500 internal server error!

Any advice from someone who knows this environment would be very appreciated! :laugh:

farhan0651
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 7:50 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by farhan0651 » Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:56 am

Was facing the same problem, and tried all the above solutions. It was ultimately after making changes in the webconfig file and php settings file that the issue was resolved. Set it to "enable" in the php settings

Bilmar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:22 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by Bilmar » Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:25 pm

Unfortunately I am having the same issues. I too am using GoDaddy and Plesk. i have attempted to make the above changes, but they do not seem o be working or I am making them incorrectly. can someone please help.

Bilmar
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:22 pm

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by Bilmar » Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:31 pm

farhan0651 wrote:Was facing the same problem, and tried all the above solutions. It was ultimately after making changes in the webconfig file and php settings file that the issue was resolved. Set it to "enable" in the php settings
What exactly did you enable in the PHP.ini file?

maluc21
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:34 am

Re: Internal Server Error when trying to add or edit a menu

Post by maluc21 » Tue Dec 09, 2014 8:35 am

I am also using Godaddy VPS Windows, i completed a transfer from another hosting but this is the only issue that I can´t fix. I had made like a hundred tests but no results, ¿Can someone have a guide to solve It? Thanks, i am quite desesperate


Locked

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 2.5”