How to Remove Meta Generator Tag? Topic is solved

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
equa24
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

How to Remove Meta Generator Tag?

Post by equa24 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:15 pm

Hello

Straight to the question, how to remove a meta generator tag on my joomla 3.0 page?

(Image not showing? Here's the link: http://postimg.org/image/z1ski0pkt/ )

I tried ByeByeGenerator but it's not working for Joomla 3.0. I even tried to change the code but I'm not sure which one.

Thank you for your help, guys.
Long live Open Source!

ozneilau
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Re: How to Remove Meta Generator Tag?

Post by ozneilau » Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:21 pm

In Global Configuration, set "Show Joomla! Version" = No.

equa24
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by equa24 » Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:17 am

No, not the version.
I mean the whole tag META GENERATOR.
I want to remove them completely.

ozneilau
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by ozneilau » Wed Apr 10, 2013 2:32 am

OK, one way is to edit your template's index.php and add the following line to the beginning:

Code: Select all

<?php $this->setGenerator(null); ?>
Neil.

johnclr
I've been banned!

Post by johnclr » Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:41 am

The second way will completely remove the generator meta tag from Joomla
Open /libraries/joomla/document/html/renderer/head.php with your favor editor
search for "generator" (around line 83-84).
add // to the beginning of the line.
Last edited by alikon on Mon Apr 15, 2013 7:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: removed selfpromotion

equa24
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by equa24 » Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:24 am