Frontpage Override

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Locked
jnewsom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:07 pm

Frontpage Override

Post by jnewsom » Mon May 20, 2013 3:12 am

I tried search for help but couldn't find it.

I'm currently working on one site with Joomla 1.5, and then started a new site with Joomla 3.1

On the 1.5 site, I did a template override for the frontpage and basically replaced the component with a chunk of html code that I made from scratch that didn't deal with any articles or anything.

Is there a way to do this with 3.1? Because it's proving god awful hard for me. I tried the same pattern of putting it in mytemplate/com_content/frontpage/default.php, then realized there was no frontpage so I replaced that with /featured/ but that didn't change anything. Then I read that I shouldn't name it default? So I changed that but nothing works. I'm getting lost with this new version of joomla.

Should I just put code in an article and make that article the homepage or is there a way to do what I want?

Any help is much appreciated!

Potus001
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Frontpage Override

Post by Potus001 » Mon May 20, 2013 5:29 am

That's probably the easiest way as I don't believe in updating templates unless it is necessary.

Will this achieve what you want?

Can you post the URLs as I'm not clear why you want to change the template?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28827
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Frontpage Override

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Mon May 20, 2013 8:19 am

From J2.5, there is no Frontpage any-more. It's called "Featured"

The path will then be mytemplate/html/com_content/featured/default.php

Note that you also had forgotten the html folder.

jnewsom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:07 pm

Re: Frontpage Override

Post by jnewsom » Mon May 20, 2013 6:45 pm

Sorry, I forgot the html when I typed it but my directory has it, and as I said I did try featured but it didn't change anything.

I'm thinking I'll just make a specific article look like how I want the front page. I just dislike that in my mind an article is just supposed to be an article and my frontpage is more about the design and less about words.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 28827
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Frontpage Override

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Mon May 20, 2013 6:50 pm

Use a single article layout as the default menu item.


Locked

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”