Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
richardm55
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:12 pm
Contact:

Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by richardm55 » Wed May 29, 2013 8:10 pm

I've created menu in two languages, English i Polish.

I think language filter is set correctly:
Language Selection for new Visitors: Browser Settings
Automatic Language Change: Yes
Menu associations: No
Remove URL Language Code: No
Cookie Lifetime: Year
Add alternate meta tags: No

In Language Manager all language codes seem to be OK. In content section I don't see option for setting default language.

I don't know why website opens in this language in which was opened before, but it should rather open in default language.

dantefrizzoli
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:48 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by dantefrizzoli » Wed May 29, 2013 8:12 pm

I had this issue before. I would consider using JoomFIsh for content localization.

http://www.joomfish.net/

Best of luck.
Fortune Favors The Bold - Aeneid Book X.287
My Joomla Site: http://ultius.com
My Blog: http://ultius.com/ultius-blog.html

richardm55
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by richardm55 » Thu May 30, 2013 5:33 pm

Why do I need JoomFish for that, mate? I thought joomla in current version had such a functionality that we can set up default language for loading website with multilanguage menu and content.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by infograf768 » Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:43 pm

A Joomla multilang site sets a cookie which lets a user who has visited the site go back to the Interface with the language last used. This may create some issues in specific cases.

I suggest you set:
Language Selection for new Visitors: Default site language
and
Cookie Lifetime: Session
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

richardm55
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by richardm55 » Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:44 am

I suggest you set:
Language Selection for new Visitors: Default site language
and
Cookie Lifetime: Session
This does not change anything, the problem remains. Website always opens in this language in which was open previously.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by infograf768 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:07 am

It will, if you open the site from the same computer you already looked at it before.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

richardm55
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by richardm55 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:54 pm

So what does default language do, if it does not determine in which language opens?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by infograf768 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:04 am

Default language is used when clicking on a root url of the type mysite.com
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

richardm55
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by richardm55 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:19 pm

For multi-language website which part of language manager defines default language? That tab with installed languages or content tab? But I could not see any option for assigning default language in content tab.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by infograf768 » Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:52 pm

Default language is defined by the installed languages.
It changes when a registered user logs in if that user has chosen another language as default.

What is important to understand is that browser Settings is a sort of legacy from 1.6 when we could only change from home to home.
If you choose to use menu associations, it is better to set default language instead and cookie set to session only.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Peerless85
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:17 am

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by Peerless85 » Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:22 am

Just in language filter set
Language Selection for new Visitors: Site language

And set default language in language manager installed-site

tenia
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:39 pm

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by tenia » Fri Apr 03, 2015 11:07 pm

i have read the information on this page: https://docs.joomla.org/Help25:Extensio ... er_Content
but can't set default language! please tell me for multilingual websites where should I start?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by infograf768 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 10:23 am

tenia wrote:i have read the information on this page: https://docs.joomla.org/Help25:Extensio ... er_Content
but can't set default language! please tell me for multilingual websites where should I start?
You can use the pdf in my signature and see http://multilingual.demojoomla.com/ where you can log into backend to see the settings
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

tenia
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:39 pm

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by tenia » Sun Apr 05, 2015 8:39 pm

hi infograf768!
i have create a multilingual site in Joomla 2.5. i have first created content in both (or all) languages! Additional language installation and Configure Language Filter and Language Switcher.
but disable the plugin called System – Language Filter !

retaheri
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:34 am

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by retaheri » Wed Dec 14, 2016 7:12 am

I have just like the problem! my website is a triple language website and all the settings mentioned in joomla website for multilanguage were set. when i explore the website at first every thing is ok! but when I change the language I can't access the default lang.! and it's flag is missed!

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18881
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Post by infograf768 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:02 am

@retaheri
We do not support 2.5 anymore and this Topic is obsolete.
Please post your question in the language forum for Joomla 3.x
all the settings mentioned in joomla website for multilanguage were set
obvioulsy something is wrong and I suggest before posting in the 3.x forum to display the results (popup) of the administrator multilangstatus module to see if really everything is fine on that side.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 2.5”