Remove URL Language Code is working only for one language!

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Locked
alaahariri
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 11:55 am

Remove URL Language Code is working only for one language!

Post by alaahariri » Fri Aug 02, 2013 12:06 pm

Dear Messrs.

Please I have an issue. I am so happy with joomla. Currently, I am using the latest version with Rockettheme template. The site is configured for two languages and working like a charm. I set the "Remove URL Language Code" to ON but it works only for one of the languages? Is it really effective for the default language only?

I have been searching for a while on a solution with no luck?

Appreciate your support!

Thank you in advance.

alaahariri
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 11:55 am

Re: Remove URL Language Code is working only for one languag

Post by alaahariri » Fri Aug 02, 2013 12:12 pm

Hello, I found out that it is only working for the default language when SEF is on. Bad News!


Anyway, thank you!

mkoontz
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:43 am
Location: Athens Greece

Re: Remove URL Language Code is working only for one languag

Post by mkoontz » Sun Aug 11, 2013 1:35 pm

Can anyone from Joomla please post on this. I am running in to the same issue. I have setup a new Joomla 3.1.5 site with 2 languages and the "remove url language code" only works for the default language. I am unable to get it to work for the other installed languages. Is this how it is supposed to work? Please say it's not so.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19122
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Remove URL Language Code is working only for one languag

Post by infograf768 » Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:09 pm

It works ONLY for the site default language. It is clearly indicated in the tip. This is the way it works.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

mkoontz
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:43 am
Location: Athens Greece

Re: Remove URL Language Code is working only for one languag

Post by mkoontz » Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:36 pm

Thank you for replying. So with this in mind is it merely personal preference or is setting it to yes considered to be the "gold" standard for SEO?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19122
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Remove URL Language Code is working only for one languag

Post by infograf768 » Mon Aug 12, 2013 6:16 am

Personal preferences.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”