Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
SONIA_3
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:03 am

Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by SONIA_3 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 9:06 pm

Hello,
I am trying to recover a backup in my live site, and after performing all tasks (I think correctly), I get this error message when logging to the site:
Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: No database selected SQL=DELETE FROM `ous_session` WHERE `time` < '1395607549'

Any help will be very appreciated. Thanks in advance,
Sonia

User avatar
pinkshirt
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 5:16 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by pinkshirt » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:33 pm

Check your configuration.php file and make sure your the values for your database settings are correct.
Particularly the $db setting:

Code: Select all

	public $dbtype = '';
	public $host = '';
	public $user = '';
	public $password = '';
	public $db = '';

SONIA_3
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:03 am

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by SONIA_3 » Sun Mar 23, 2014 11:15 pm

Hi,
thanks a lot, but configuration.php seems fine. I already checked it and it is ok (I also substituted the whole file for a clean one from the backup).
Just to explain the problem better: I wanted to update my live site with a copy from a local XAMPP joomla installation that I use for testing. It did´t work, so I tried to recover the site with the backup. First, I dropped the database. Then, I create it with its original name and did the import. Then, I copied the public_html from the backup with the original configuration.php file. Then, when going to the site, I only get that error message.
..any suggestion?
thank you,
Sonia

User avatar
pinkshirt
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 5:16 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by pinkshirt » Sun Mar 23, 2014 11:21 pm

Have a look through the instructions on this page:
http://docs.joomla.org/Copying_a_Joomla_website

There's a section under "Importing the copy into a new database" which describes the error you are getting - you might have the same issue.

larrylee5566
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:36 am

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by larrylee5566 » Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:18 am

pinkshirt wrote:Have a look through the instructions on this page:
http://docs.joomla.org/Copying_a_Joomla_website

There's a section under "Importing the copy into a new database" which describes the error you are getting - you might have the same issue.
i think this a Permission error

SONIA_3
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:03 am

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by SONIA_3 » Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:08 am

Dear all,
thanks for your help, but I am still down. I checked the referred doc, but I cannot find anything like my problem, and from the doc, it seems I followed the proper steps.
As for the permission error: I don´t know how to check it, as I don´t have access to the back end (same error as in frontend), anyway, I did not change any permission in any folder, and it worked before.
To resume it again:
- First, I tried to copy to my live site a local XAMPP joomla installation that I use for testing.
- Second: it did not work (same error: Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: No database selected SQL=SELECT `session_id` FROM `ous_session` WHERE `session_id` = 'cb0a25651ca62a2b81f67718e577fc61' LIMIT 0, 1)
- Third: then, I tried to recover a live site backup (I´d done a site backup before): it doesn´t work, I keep with same error

The version of joomla is 3.2.3
...any other suggestion?
thanks,
Sonia

SONIA_3
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:03 am

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by SONIA_3 » Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:57 am

Hello again,
it is solved already. The problem was related to phpMyadmin tool: in the remote server, I did not have enough rights to perform the DROP database, so I had to use another tool for it (MySQLdatabase), with this tool, the option was DELETEDATABASE. After it, I should have created again the DB users, and I did not. Once I create again the users, it is solve.
thanks again for helping,
Sonia

User avatar
pinkshirt
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 5:16 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by pinkshirt » Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:00 am

OK, glad you sorted it out

niteshpanchal
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 10:40 am

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by niteshpanchal » Sun Jun 29, 2014 10:49 am

Guys,

I am also having same problem with my site, I have checked all settings on Configuration.php file as per my local site, still not fixed.

Here is my error :

Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: No database selected SQL=SELECT `session_id` FROM `jos_session` WHERE `session_id` = 'a0c1ea596c0ac8f8c560d95b3b84002d' LIMIT 0, 1

Please send me fix for this one, it's urgent.

Thanks.

Nitesh.

User avatar
toivo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9611
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by toivo » Sun Jun 29, 2014 3:22 pm

I have checked all settings on Configuration.php file as per my local site, still not fixed.
If you modified the database settings, listed by @pinkshirt above, to match the remote site database settings you received from your hosting provider, you need to check them again with your hosting provider.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator
my first programs were assembled and run in 16KB :)
troubleshooting smtp and other articles https://talikka.com/joomla

Psych001
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:14 am

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by Psych001 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:32 am

Hi

I added the Google Analytics CNAME to my website yesterday, through the simple DNS Zone app within my web hosts admin area. Today I went to look at the site and also tried to get in to the backend through admin site page and got this: No database selected SQL=SELECT `session_id` FROM `197_session` WHERE `session_id` = '02b159c8e389f4cb2dd49cd4d7b90b02' LIMIT 0, 1

Any help would be greatfully appreciated.
Thanks.

Psych001
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:14 am

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by Psych001 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 10:50 am

Hi,

Issue is now sort, my business partner has actually removed the SQL DB.

asifak
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:56 am

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by asifak » Wed Dec 30, 2015 5:57 am

I am facing the same problem here. I am actually transferring my Joomla 3.4.x website from one server to other and receiving following error:

"Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: No
database selected SQL=SELECT `session_id` FROM `dmvzj_session` WHERE
`session_id` = 'cca1085607e1201321f77f6e477bb84f' LIMIT 0, 1"

I have tried many options since last 3 days but am not successful. I am
sure my configuration.php is ok. Can someone guide me what did you do actually to fix the problem. I appreciate your help.
This is reaally strange problem, and I never faced in Joomla 1.5.x

User avatar
toivo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9611
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by toivo » Wed Dec 30, 2015 7:52 am

Talk to your hosting provider and get the correct database settings.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator
my first programs were assembled and run in 16KB :)
troubleshooting smtp and other articles https://talikka.com/joomla

User avatar
linkedla
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:05 am
Location: Miami, USA
Contact:

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by linkedla » Thu Mar 24, 2016 4:11 pm

Hello, this may help you, I solve the problem by finding myself a little dumb :-[ because is one single simple step: add the user to the DB!

While moving the files from one server to other and adding the new DB i forgot to add the user to the new DB, so go to your cPanel and add the user to the DB with full rights (permissions) and that's it!

Enjoy, happiness is an inside job.
Jose Antonio Suarez.
Graphic Designer

lleytonks
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:18 pm

Re: Error displaying the error page: Application Inst Error

Post by lleytonks » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:24 pm

Hola el error se produce cuando ustedes al crear la base de datos, crean el usuario y la base de datos, pero no conectan ambos. Para ello al crear la base de datos hay que ir a:

"Añadir usuario a la base de datos"
y seleccionar el usuario que agregarán a la base de datos, esto tiene que ser igual como lo tienen en su Configuration.

Espero les sirva el aporte.
*********************************************************************************************************************************
Hello the error occurs when you create the database, create the user and the database, but do not connect both. To do this, when creating the database, you must go to:

"Add user to the database"
and select the user that they will add to the database, this has to be the same as they have it in their Configuration.

I hope the contribution helps.


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”