Something to play with - possible changes to Joomfish

Discuss the development and implementation of Joomla! components here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Geraint
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Something to play with - possible changes to Joomfish

Post by Geraint » Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:16 am

Mambelfish was a great component and an essential part of Mambo, however it didn't quite do everything I wanted:
  • It was too slow
  • It often didn't work with components that made queries involving multiple tables e.g. Joins
  • It couldn't deal with components who's tables used primary keys not called "id"
  • I could never get caching of menus to work properly
  • I had problems with adding content in the the non-default language via the front end - it would get overwritten when the "translation" into the default language was made
I therefore set about hacking and believe the changes I have made, deal with the first 4 of my problems.  I am using these changes on a production site and thought I'd submit them for others to play with/comment on while we wait for the release of Joomfish.  Let me know what you think.

I can now translate PHP-shop, ponygallery and simpleboard forum messages as well as what was possbile before.

Geraint

p.s. To deal with menu caching see : http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,7522.0.html
p.p.s. Installing mambofish 1.5 with joomla 1.0.1 0 you need to refer to http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... l#msg48301
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

pulp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Something to play with - possible changes to Joomfish

Post by pulp » Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:20 pm

Thanks, i will try these changes...
Creative Engineering IT & Design Solutions