Remove Login Module *after* Login

General questions relating to Joomla! There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
winuser
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Remove Login Module *after* Login

Post by winuser » Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:20 am

I could not find the "New Topic" button in the Custom Development forum (which is probably where this message belongs), so I'll have to post my question here.

Very simply, I want to remove/unpublish the Login module after the user signs in. I use a direct "Logout" link on the user menu, so once a user has signed-in, the login module serves no purpose but to waste real estate.

If Joomla supported "min" and "max" access levels, it would be easy: I could just assign the module to Guests, and restrict it from User and above. But, Joomla's access control is not that sophisticated yet.

Is there a solution available?

Thanks in advance  ;D
Science • Education • Programming

winuser
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Remove Login Module *after* Login

Post by winuser » Thu Aug 31, 2006 1:21 pm

Sorry for bumping this topic; but this is on my "must-fix" list for today.

I'm confident that someone here has a good solution ;)

zuze
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Post by zuze » Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:27 pm

Maybe move it out of the way, closer to the bottom of the page.

I don't think you could do what you want to do, without modifying the code.

Keep in mind, that once you modify the code, any Joomla update becomes a diferent animal.

Why complicate? it does not take up that much space  8)
The key to your life is how well you deal with plan "B".
Latvian Project http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla_latvian/ | http://www.joomlalv.org

winuser
Joomla! Intern