Error - error has occurred.

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
semleon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:38 pm

Error - error has occurred.

Post by semleon » Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:44 pm

I've successfully installed Joomla 3.5 on my Synology server. Everything was perfect. I can see the website. I can log in to the Admin panel. But on every admin panel, I get a pink banner at the top that sais "Error an error has occurred." that is. Nothing Else. I can 'x' the panel to close it but it pops up on every screen I click in the Administrator back end. I've attached a screen shot.

The only thing that seems to be happening that I cant do is install templates and such. No error, its just that it never uploads.

Not sure what the error is or how to resolve it. Any Ideas
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

NathanRdrz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:19 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by NathanRdrz » Fri Apr 01, 2016 4:35 pm

You can try enable Debug mode in Global Configuration.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37052
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by Webdongle » Sat Apr 02, 2016 12:04 pm

How did you install it ?

Also please http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

sharky
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:00 pm

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by sharky » Sat Apr 02, 2016 1:37 pm

Juste make update from 3.4.8

User avatar
JAVesey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2019
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 1:21 pm
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by JAVesey » Fri Apr 08, 2016 1:17 pm

Go into Admin>Extensions and from the links on the left hand side of the screen click on "Warnings". Is anything showing?

Then click on the database link. Anything reported?
John V
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Uses Joomla 3.9.8

sharky
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:00 pm

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by sharky » Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:46 pm

nothing both
-no warning
-database is uptodate

in debug mode, it just indicates that there are duplicate query

bkvogler
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:41 am

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by bkvogler » Fri Apr 15, 2016 10:59 am

I see the same thing, after installing or upgrading to 3.5.1 a pink box saying "Error - An error has occurred" in the administrator's pages.

Everything seems to work but I can't get rid of the error message.

Any Ideas

Joomla! version 3.5.1
Ubuntu 14.04.4 x64

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37052
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by Webdongle » Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:29 am

Set error reporting to max ... see what happens
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

semleon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:38 pm

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by semleon » Fri Apr 15, 2016 1:06 pm

So the issue resolved for me after I made sure that all the apps were updated (MariaDB, Joomla, etc..). I didn't realize updates were pending, and after the latest DSM upgrade, those apps apparently had to be updated too in order for things to work properly. Once everything was updated and restarted, everything worked as expected

User avatar
jimmyeao
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:23 pm
Location: Lincoln, UK
Contact:

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by jimmyeao » Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:03 pm

I had this error and received an out of memory error when trying to list modules. fixed by:
You need to increase the buffer size of mysql :
in the /etc/mysql/my.cnf , set
sort_buffer_size to 256K

sharky
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:00 pm

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by sharky » Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:18 pm

Nice!
But bether if you edit /var/packages/MariaDB/etc/my.cnf
this file override the settings and now the next update will not overwrite the parameter

https://www.synology.com/en-global/know ... nology_NAS

Add

Code: Select all

[mysqld]
sort_buffer_size = 256K
restart mariadb SSH

Code: Select all

/usr/syno/bin/synopkg restart MariaDB

User avatar
dingbusan
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by dingbusan » Sat May 14, 2016 4:55 am

jimmyeao wrote:I had this error and received an out of memory error when trying to list modules. fixed by:
You need to increase the buffer size of mysql :
in the /etc/mysql/my.cnf , set
sort_buffer_size to 256K
Thank you! ur solution is works for me ;D

User avatar
PhilTaylor-Prazgod
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1193
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 12:32 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Contact:

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by PhilTaylor-Prazgod » Wed Sep 07, 2016 7:57 pm

Phil Taylor - Full Time Joomla/PHP Security Expert
Blue Flame Digital Solutions Limited.
-- https://myJoomla.com/ Multi Award Winning Joomla Security & Auditing Service
-- https://www.phil-taylor.com/

quiquedcode
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:11 pm
Location: San Juan - Argentina
Contact:

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by quiquedcode » Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:18 pm

Thanks for the info Phil. I've been getting this after upgrading a site from 3.4.1 to 3.6.2, and after a blank 3.6.2 install. I'm on Win 8.1 pro / MySQL, so I guess I won't see it once I upload site to definitive hosting provider
@kabeza
Freelance Joomla/CodeIgniter Developer
Home: http://www.beza.com.ar

giurmax
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:43 pm

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by giurmax » Wed Oct 19, 2016 12:51 pm

Hi, same issue here.
How can I access in /var/packages/MariaDB/etc/ to edit my.cnf ?

I did it only through ssh terminal, but I'm not able to create or edit a file by terminal. Ther's a way to do it by software like filezilla, cyberduck, or something. I've trid but can't access to the root folders.

Please Help

Thanks ;)

Max

User avatar
PhilTaylor-Prazgod
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1193
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 12:32 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel Islands
Contact:

Re: Error - error has occurred.

Post by PhilTaylor-Prazgod » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:12 pm

You will need to get your server admin to make the change - you cannot make this change and restart the database server yourself on a shared host.

And if you are the server admin, and you dont know how to make these configuration changes - maybe you should reconsider self maintaining a server :-)
Phil Taylor - Full Time Joomla/PHP Security Expert
Blue Flame Digital Solutions Limited.
-- https://myJoomla.com/ Multi Award Winning Joomla Security & Auditing Service
-- https://www.phil-taylor.com/


Locked

Return to “Installation Joomla! 3.x”