global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Locked
FrancoisRJoom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:54 pm

global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by FrancoisRJoom » Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:06 am

Hello everyone,

My form (made with chronoforms V5) doesn't work when global cache is enabled and workd ok as soon as I disable it.

With global cache on :
when submitting the form the page reloads, but I don't get no error message nor do I get the usual thank you message and the message is not sent.

I do like enabling gobal cache and I like having my contact form working.

So my question is how can I get both ?
Is it possible ti disable global caching on my contact form page only ?

Thanks for your help.

François

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4025
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by itoctopus » Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:49 am

Joomla's core doesn't support what you want to do - you can't tell it through the Joomla backend not to cache a specific page. There are some caching extensions in the JED that allow you to control caching at the page level (just search the JED for such extensions).
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

FrancoisRJoom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by FrancoisRJoom » Tue Jun 14, 2016 11:27 am

Thanks itoctopus,

I already use JCH to manage cache among lots of other things.
My server uses Varnish (a server cache system)
And I enable global config.

It already makes me mad to refresh my website whenever I change something (almost daily).
When something doesn't work my first guesss is always to accuse the cache.
It takes a lot of verification ans refreshing each time and lots of uncertainty.
Another extension to manage cache could definitly kill me.

But let's say I do choose to use a new extension for that purpose. Do you have a suggestion of extension ?

Is there an other possibility not using an extension if it can't be done with the backend : htaccess ?
What I want is my contact form to submit as it should without desabling completly global cache .

thanks again

stephenb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:05 am

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by stephenb » Tue Jun 14, 2016 11:42 am

What version of Joomla are you using? I recently noticed that in Joomla 3.5 at least, there are some new parameters in the System Page Cache plugin that allow you to exclude certain menu items (pages). There's also an advanced tab which allows you to enter a list of URLs (including regular expressions) that will be excluded from the cache.

This is a big improvement on the previous system and should allow you to achieve what you are seeking.
Cheers,
Stephen
MetaMod & Chameleon developer: http://www.metamodpro.com/

FrancoisRJoom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by FrancoisRJoom » Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:06 pm

hey Stephenb I m using the last version Joomla! 3.5.1 Stable
I just checked the system cache plugin : System - Page Cache
You're right, there is an option to exclude a menu item.

The plugin is disabled. I'll try to enable it and to exclude the contact menu item.

NickC4555
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 457
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:09 am
Location: Leicester, UK

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by NickC4555 » Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:11 pm

Excluded URLs in the system cache plugin won't fix a problem with the global cache, they are two different things. If chronoforms doesn't work with the global cache on, you should raise a support ticket with ChronoEngine, they might have a solution.

FrancoisRJoom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by FrancoisRJoom » Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:19 pm

Thanks Nick,

Ok So I won't enable the system cache plugin then.

I started by trying to contact them
Unfortunatly the chronoforms support forum is down. Apparently it was hacked. Google tells me not to open their pages

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4025
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by itoctopus » Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:31 pm

I'm not sure that enabling the System - Cache plugin will make things better - your problem is with Joomla's base cache which is different than the System Cache plugin. In any case, please post back your findings.

Technically, JCH Optimize is not a caching plugin - it will just compress the CSS/JavaScript for SEO reasons. JotCache and CacheControl are caching plugins.
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

FrancoisRJoom
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:54 pm

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by FrancoisRJoom » Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:39 pm

Hey itoctopus, you say
Technically, JCH Optimize is not a caching plugin - it will just compress the CSS/JavaScript for SEO reasons. JotCache and CacheControl are caching plugins.
you are right jch is not a caching plugin but if I understand well, JCH groups and compresses css and javascript files and then caches those compressed files I then do have to erase jch cache whenever I change something to my css or javascript...
But that is another matter.

If don't get a good answer to how to make my form work and my global cache enables here in this post I'll let you informed id I find a solution by myself.

stephenb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:05 am

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by stephenb » Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:01 pm

Ok sorry I didn't realise you were talking about the cache in Global Config rather than the plugin. It would be great if the Global Config one had the same exclusions system that the plugin has!
Cheers,
Stephen
MetaMod & Chameleon developer: http://www.metamodpro.com/

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 10331
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by sozzled » Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:31 pm

Caching—pluses and minuses: see https://www.rsjoomla.com/blog/view/290- ... omla-.html

Chronoforms: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=262&t=925753

Joomla 3.5 new cache plugin settings: https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/pull/7767

Varnish: sorry, I'm out of my depth on that one.
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

bentk
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:52 pm

Re: global cache breaking form : disabling cache on form page only ?

Post by bentk » Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:58 am

FrancoisRJoom wrote: My server uses Varnish (a server cache system)


It already makes me mad to refresh my website whenever I change something (almost daily).
there is a simple solution, a 3rd party varnish extension which do this every time you save an article. It will completely clear the cache, and you will be able to see the very latest version of the article.

https://extensions.joomla.org/extension ... for-joomla

I can't remember what I was setting up for this, maybe nothing, just enabled it. But it clears varnish's cache.


Locked

Return to “Administration Joomla! 3.x”