How To Use Article Title As External URL??

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
feliwebwork
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

How To Use Article Title As External URL??

Post by feliwebwork » Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:04 pm

Hi Friends,

I am trying to figure out how to link some article titles to external urls so that when someone clicks on the article title, it takes them to that external url and not to the article itself. This is for a news aggretator website that I am working on.

I found a solution that was offered for Joomla 1.5 here:
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=521333#p3338062

It seems the suggestion is to use the external reference input as the source of the external url. This seems like a good idea. However, it seems that Joomla 3.5 is quite different, and I am not very skilled, so I would appreciate any help others can offer.

Could someone help me (and others) in having the option of linking some article titles to external urls??

Thanks for any help you can offer.

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: How To Use Article Title As External URL??

Post by itoctopus » Thu Jun 16, 2016 6:23 pm

You can store the link that you want the users to redirect to in Link A (for example) under "Images and Links" (when editing the article). You can then override the article layout and use that link (Link A) instead of the default link. Link A is stored in json format in $this->item->urls .
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

feliwebwork
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by feliwebwork » Thu Jun 16, 2016 7:37 pm