Automated Joomla! / Mambo Component/Modiule Version Checks...

Joomla version 1.0 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Wizzie
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Automated Joomla! / Mambo Component/Modiule Version Checks...

Post by Wizzie » Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:46 pm

In an attempt to assist in the maintenance of multiple Joomla installations and in some part due to the recent increase in attempted exploit activity and events.

In addition to the previously posted "checkJOSVersions" script (reports installed Joomla Base/Core version information) we are now making available a perl script that searches for and reports installed Joomla Core and Custom installed object (components, modules, mambots, plugins and language) versions.

Potentially, this script might be used to assist in support and troubleshooting of version incompatibilty, current and maintainable release monitoring, standard environment consistancy checking.

Installation:
  1.  Download the script from here
  2.  FTP to your server
      (this is not designed to be run from a web-browser, so  preferably NOT in a web accessible directory)
  3.  Rename  "checkJOSOBJVersionsNew.pl.txt"  to  "checkJOSOBJVersions.pl"  or whatever you want.
  4.  Chmod 755 checkJOSOBJVersions.pl  or your chosen filename.
  5.  Configure input, output , email  and core/custom object reporting settings
      READ THE OPTION COMMENTS, this is pretty well documented internally.
      (The defaults should be ok for most, but you still need to configure the email address at least.)
  6.  Either run in console mode (through SSH) or configure a cron to run automatically