Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
User avatar
rbencomo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:46 am

Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by rbencomo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 3:45 am

I upgraded my Joomla from version 3.6.0 to version 3.6.2. Just as the upgrade was almost complete, a message appeared at the top of my browser that said the following:

"The most recent request was denied because it contained an invalid security token. Please refresh the page and try again."

Should I be worried about this? Anyone know what it means?

Thanks!
Last edited by toivo on Sat Aug 06, 2016 5:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved to Migrating and Upgrading to 3.x

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6934
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by sozzled » Sat Aug 06, 2016 5:36 am

It happens. It's happened to me. Simple solution is to go back a few pages in your browser history (back to the screen after you logged-in), then refresh the screen and everything should return to normal. It happens because there's a small problem with the Joomla session manager. I understand that this will probably be resolved in a future release of Joomla.

Nothing serious to be concerned about. It's easy enough to fix; it's just a one-time minor irritation for some people/sites that occurs immediately after upgrading to J! 3.6.2. 8)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

User avatar
rbencomo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:46 am

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by rbencomo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 6:32 am

Yup, I just hit the browser back button a few times and returned to my Joomla backend, and everything seems to be fine. Now I feel better. ;)

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by sovainfo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:41 am

Did you update Joomla! Update first as instructed?
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

User avatar
rbencomo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:46 am

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by rbencomo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:13 am

I initially upgraded from 3.4.8 (?) to 3.6.0. No problems there.

I next upgraded from 3.6.0 to 3.6.2. That's when I saw the "invalid security token" message as mentioned earlier. Despite the error, everything seems to be working okay.

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by sovainfo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:21 am

Is that a No to my question?
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

User avatar
rbencomo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:46 am

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by rbencomo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:26 am

Isn't that a yes? I was initially 3.4.8. Then went to 3.6.0. Then immediately upgraded to 3.6.2.

Update, update, and then update.

NOTE: I initially started off with an empty folder and a clean Joomla install. I was initially given 3.4.8. It then asked me to upgrade to 3.6.0, etc...

All is good, regardless.

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by sovainfo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:40 am

No, it is a No. Instructions are for starting with j348:
1 Update to j360
2 Update component Joomla! Update to 361
3 Update to J362

You did 1,3 instead of 1,2,3 !
Instructions are there for you to follow. Not following instructions might lead to issues. Following instructions doesn't mean you won't have issues. Don't know why the instructions are the way they are, do know there is a reason!
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

User avatar
rbencomo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:46 am

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by rbencomo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:49 am

I did upgrade to 3.6.0. Then I did the "Update component to 361", but even after that step it still showed that my current Joomla version was 3.6.0.

If there is a Joomla version 3.6.1, I guess it's not immediately obvious to me.

User avatar
rbencomo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:46 am

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by rbencomo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 10:53 am

Just now did another re-install. Went from j348 to j360. Then did the component 361 install, but it still showed my current Joomla version as j360.

I then upgraded to j362 and the error message never occurred! So yes, that DID work after all! ;)

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by sovainfo » Sat Aug 06, 2016 11:02 am

Thank you for that feedback.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25484
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:28 pm

rbencomo wrote:I did upgrade to 3.6.0. Then I did the "Update component to 361", but even after that step it still showed that my current Joomla version was 3.6.0.

If there is a Joomla version 3.6.1, I guess it's not immediately obvious to me.
The update of the updater only updates the update component and not core Joomla.

There was a security tightening change in 3.6.1. What might cause issues is the Akeeba Backup Plugin (update to 5.1.4) and running php 5.3.

hoanta
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by hoanta » Sun Aug 07, 2016 4:24 am

Uninstall Akeeba backup before updating and there will be no error.
GTmetrix AA grade
http://www.locnuocmy.com

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25484
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Aug 07, 2016 8:17 am

No need to uninstall. Disable the Plugin that do the backup during the upgrade.

Aarthi50
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 6:40 am

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.3 installed

Post by Aarthi50 » Wed Nov 02, 2016 6:48 am

I upgraded to joomla from 3.6.2 to 3.6.3.It is showing me "The most recent request was denied because it contained an invalid security token. Please refresh the page and try again".I tried refreshing the page but it still shows me the same issue.

Kindly share the link for superuser login.

ch2856
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:41 am

Re: Invalid security token after 3.6.2 installed

Post by ch2856 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:27 pm

The issue is still happening in J3.6.5.

ch2856
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:41 am

invalid security token using cache

Post by ch2856 » Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:45 am

Hi,

Why on earth, from j3.6.2-3.6.5, this issue has not been fixed? can't use simple contact form (inside articles) with cache on (just general cache, not the plugin). Every once in a while I am getting invalid security token...

Any solution for that issue? maybe moving to cache on a server level?

Thanks.
Last edited by mandville on Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: topics merged,

User avatar
mandville
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14765
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:56 am
Location: The Girly Side of Joomla in Sussex

Re: invalid security token using cache

Post by mandville » Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:09 am

HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be reported, added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{VEL Team Leader}{TM Auditor }{ Showcase & Security forums Moderator}


Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”