Recaptcha Joomla plugin on login form

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
gjledger_2k
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Recaptcha Joomla plugin on login form

Post by gjledger_2k » Thu Dec 15, 2016 4:51 pm

I've just suffered a brute force attack on one of my sites, so now I want to lock down the login forms of all sites. I was able to add nocaptcha recaptcha on my Wordpress sites, but the plugin that comes packaged with Joomla 3 doesn't show up on the login page.

Is there a way to get the built in Joomla plugin to work on forms and the login page?

JAVesey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Recaptcha Joomla plugin on login form

Post by JAVesey » Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:01 pm

gjledger_2k wrote:Is there a way to get the built in Joomla plugin to work on forms and the login page?
Yes, of course there is :)

1. Global Configuration, Site tab, select Captcha-ReCaptcha as the default captcha. Make sure that it's published and enabled.
2. Extensions, plugins, select the captcha-ReCaptcha plugin. Select 2.0 as the version and enter your site and secret keys which you have generated care of Mr Google's services.

That should be it.

All the above assumes that you are using a template which allows the Recaptcha to show. If you're not and you're not sure whether your template does display the Recaptcha, temporarily switch to the standard Protostar template to see if the Recaptcha shows.
John V
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Joomla 3.10.10 "live" and local (testing and backup) sites
Joomla 4.1.5 local site (testing!)
All on PHP8.0.20

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master