I got a error 500 everytime I save an article or category.

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Vulcane
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

I got a error 500 everytime I save an article or category.

Post by Vulcane » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:40 am

I often get an error 500 when I edited or created an article or a category.
This is the error I get:
-------------------------------------------------- ------------------------------------------------
The page does not work on 192.168.192.24

192.168.192.24 can not process this request.
HTTP ERROR 500
-------------------------------------------------- ------------------------------------------------

Which is not so bad, because I can still access the server after a reload of the page. The only thing is, the category or article is not saved. But I can still save it.
the real problem is, after a few days, right before Im ready to gop online, I cant reload the page anymore, after that error. So, all I can do is delete joomla and dBase and start over again with the website.
I did installed Akeeba and made my daily backups, but because I have to delete Joomla, I cant use the backups anymore.
I hope someone can help me, because I'm getting discouraged.

Regards,

Vulcane

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: I got a error 500 everytime I save an article or category.

Post by itoctopus » Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:03 am

Most likely this is a ModSecurity rule being triggered. Check the ModSecurity log for any errors, and whitelist the offending rule.
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master