Disable Hamburger Menu

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Aenigmaticus
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Disable Hamburger Menu

Post by Aenigmaticus » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:00 am

Well, I've reached a stumbling block: I cannot find the option to disable the 'hamburger menu' presentation on my 'mainmenu'. I am using the stock 'protostar' theme. How can I disable it so that the links are present independent of device/browser size?

I need consistency: 'Home' | 'About' | 'Forum' | 'Wiki'. Not a so-called collapsing menu that forces one to use javascript and waste power on a mobile device and waste huge amount of pixel space on a browser. Note that the links do appear properly when I have my desktop browser in full screen.

I'm sure I'm missing something obvious in the admin control... older documentation suggests the option exists! Can you please help me out with this?

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Disable Hamburger Menu

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:09 am

Put the Menu in Position-8 or modify the code in the Template for Position-1

Aenigmaticus
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Aenigmaticus » Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:29 pm

Position-8 shifts the menus to the left column in the "Content" section, which is not wanted; I can't make sense of what protostar's entries mean even through a night's worth of trial-and-error, so I removed the entire Position-1 code and replaced it with hardcoded links.