Will this action affect seo

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 3.x. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 3.x extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Ironside
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Will this action affect seo

Post by Ironside » Thu May 11, 2017 1:28 pm

At the moment I have a menu module on a page on my website. One of the menus points to a specific article. This article renders at #1 on Google for quite a few search terms and I wouldn't want to do anything to affect this. So with this in mind, if I were to take the menu module off the page but still have it active so that when somebody clicks on the URL they still get taken to the page, will this affect the search engine optimisation at all?
Ham and eggs. A day's work for a chicken, a lifetime commitment for a pig.

http://www.tetraplegicliving.com
http://www.oscarfishlover.com

konst-galleri
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Will this action affect seo

Post by konst-galleri » Thu May 11, 2017 5:37 pm

It could very well have an effect .

You could try to remove it, and if the ranking changes, then add it again.

sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Post by sozzled » Sat May 13, 2017 7:13 pm

@Ironside: G'day, mate :)

I'm not an expert but, if you analyse the way that SERPs are compiled by the search engines, removing a specific [top-ranking] article's URL from a menu module probably won't make an ounce of difference to the existing SERP "ranking".