Joomla 3.8x Login in Frontend is with an error

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Locked
Frank-de
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:05 pm

Joomla 3.8x Login in Frontend is with an error

Post by Frank-de » Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:19 pm

index.php?option=com_users&view=login ==>> index.php/component/users/profile?Itemid=101
Steps to reproduce the issue

http://www.wassermühle-karoxbostel.de/index.php?option=com_users&view=login
use this link to login with joomla-cms and the password = login

Expected result

Just perform the login in the frontend and show the startpage

Actual result

Warning from Joomla
http://www.wassermühle-karoxbostel.de/index.php/component/users/profile?Itemid=101

System information (as much as possible)

Joomla 3.8.1 freshly installed
all tables from DB removed
DB backup imported from living and updated Joomla with the same error

Additional comments

I performed the full new install on strato.de to get rid of the login error, but the behavior is copied.
On the empty or fresh Joomla 3.8.1 the login works fine.

User avatar
anabarcellos
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:23 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8x Login in Frontend is with an error

Post by anabarcellos » Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:43 pm

Please check if your home menu item is not set to 'registered' or something else different than 'public'. This error is happening after 3.7.

Not sure if it is the same of this: https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/issues/15730
"The correct fix for this is to ensure that you always have a login menu item - it can be set to hidden if you want."
Last edited by anabarcellos on Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ana Barcellos
http://dicas.joomla.com
http://mulheres.joomla.com.br
Twitter: @AnimandoC

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 41878
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8x Login in Frontend is with an error

Post by Webdongle » Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:08 pm

And what happens with users who don't have underscores in their user name ?
Is the Joomla user plugin enabled ?

viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 please
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

User avatar
anabarcellos
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:23 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8x Login in Frontend is with an error

Post by anabarcellos » Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:01 pm

anabarcellos wrote:Please check if your home menu item is not set to 'registered' or something else different than 'public'. This error is happening after 3.7. Not sure if it is the same of this: https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/issues/15730 "The correct fix for this is to ensure that you always have a login menu item - it can be set to hidden if you want."
Sorry, a just answered fast and didnt check that you already have a login menu. Please disconsider my first answer.
Ana Barcellos
http://dicas.joomla.com
http://mulheres.joomla.com.br
Twitter: @AnimandoC

Frank-de
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Joomla 3.8x Login in Frontend is with an error

Post by Frank-de » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:18 pm

Sorry for my delayed reply.
Item 101 startpage is public.
5 minutes ago the issue was still in the joomla site - now it vanished - oh no, not vanished!

- I added a login menu option as public in one of the menus and the error message vanished.
- Disabling the new menu option - error message is shown
- Enabled but registered only - error message is shown.
Finally I do not want guest can see the login option


Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 3.x”