Frontend login: username or password do not match or not have an account yet

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
embeathome1
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Frontend login: username or password do not match or not have an account yet

Post by embeathome1 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:32 pm

Hi,

I am very new to Joomla, worked with 1.x many many years ago, so have some experience but very limited.

I have been searching whle day today here, everywhere, but found only posts, which are either very old or are related to backend/admin.

(I have no experience with coding, php, myphp etc. My site is online so files are already at webhosting company. Don't know if this is important, but would like to highlight that I don't have Joomla installation on local PC.

I have fresh install Joomla 3.8.5 installed week or so ago. I have created some simple pages. For me most important is to have login for customers working. So I created test user with "Registered" privileges. I think all permissions set OK in admin part.

When I tried to login as this "test customer"user, I got error "Username or password do not match or not have an account yet"

I have been searching whole day for solution and the only thing I found is that easy passwords works. So I changed passoword to only 4 characters and it really worked OK. But befre I had to change settings in Global configuration/ User Password Options from I think 8 charters to 4 and Minimum symbols from 1 to 0.

So these easy passowrds works but I would need minimum lenght set to 8 and at least 1 character.