Notice SMTP connect() failed

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
nikiobicata
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Notice SMTP connect() failed

Post by nikiobicata » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:25 pm

Joomla! 3.8.2

I'm trying this setting: viewtopic.php?f=707&t=870276
php_sockets is enabled
OpenSSL is enabled

I can send email directly to my office 360 email so this is working.. But our Joomla website is not sending emails... The error is:

Notice
SMTP connect() failed. https://github.com/PHPMailer/PHPMailer/ ... leshooting
Error
Test mail could not be sent.

Did anyone have a solution?

Thanks

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Notice SMTP connect() failed

Post by AMurray » Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:18 am

Check the details (credentials) again and ensure all the details are correct. Can you try the PHP Mail or Sendmail alternatives? However I would first update Joomla to 3.8.6 before you worry about whether it sends email or not.
Regards - A Murray

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Notice SMTP connect() failed

Post by toivo » Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:23 am

You can troubleshoot SMTP connections to find out more about the issue. For example, the connection can fail if one of the SSL certificates was not issued by a trusted Certificate Authority.

Go to Extensions - Plugins and configure the plugin 'System - Debug' with the following settings:
  • Allowed Groups: Super Users
    Log Priorities: All
    Log Categories: mail
    Log Almost Everything