SMTP Error Logging

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
sohopros
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

SMTP Error Logging

Post by sohopros » Thu Jul 05, 2018 10:53 pm

When one of our Joomla sites' SMTP mail sender has problem authenticating, the site servers the following error:

Notice: SMTP Error! Could not authenticate.

We want to monitor these types of errors, but are not sure if Joomla logs them anywhere. They don't get logged in the error_log file on the root of the installations, we assume because these are SMTP error and not PHP errors. Can anyone provide some assistance on this?

Our basic objective is to be notified of these errors (we can have a cron job monitor a log file for changes and send us an email when a new error occurs) as indication of a contact form that is no longer working due to SMTP authentication problems.

Actually, we see this extension for RSForms! Pro that does exactly wheat we want, but we aren't using RSForms! Pro: https://extensions.joomla.org/extension ... sform-pro/

Thank you for your help
SOHO Prospecting
https://www.sohoprospecting.com - Joomla Website development
Camarillo, CA - USA
Phone 866.644.7646

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: SMTP Error Logging

Post by toivo » Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:37 am

You can get a detailed log of all the messages exchanged between your Joomla site and the SMTP server, not just error messages.

Go to Extensions - Plugins and configure the system plugin 'System - Debug' with the following settings:
  • Allowed Groups: Registered
    Log Priorities: Error
    Log Categories: mail
    Log Almost Everything