Changes to website and template is slow

Everything to do with Joomla! 3.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
deleawo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Changes to website and template is slow

Post by deleawo » Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:24 pm

Hi. It seems the changes I am making to my clients joomla website is taking a long time. I first noticed it with an extension I am using, but I then notice it is happening with close to everything. Creating modules, modifying modules, modifying articles. Recently I was making adjustment to the site css and that was taking long also. I clear cache for joomla and the browsers and it is still taking a long time. It seems I have to wait for some time before the changes happen. I will like to be able to see the changes immediately or at least after I clear browser cache. This is my website http://www.vcmentoring.co.uk/creativefilms28052018/. Can you please help?

AMurray
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: Changes to website and template is slow

Post by AMurray » Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:35 pm

If it's taking a while to show changes, despite clearing the cache (Joomla and browser) it could be some other caching element at work (that is not related to Joomla).

Hosting firms may have some other cache system that you can enable in cPanel (or equivalent), causing changes not to be shown immediately. Does the same thing happen across different browsers?

Can you make changes in say, Firefox, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, and in each modify an article or something, save and then view in that same browser, or does the problem exist no matter what browser you use?
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray