J! 3.9.0 Protostar: Enabling System-Privacy Consent plugin: user profile display (redirection on login) Topic is solved

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

J! 3.9.0 Protostar: Enabling System-Privacy Consent plugin: user profile display (redirection on login)

Post by sozzled » Fri Nov 02, 2018 7:40 pm

G'day everyone

This problem has me beaten. I know how to workaround the issue but I'm really puzzled as to how the matter has surfaced.

Background:

1) J! 3.9.0 website (pretty basic): for testing purposes only and, therefore, this site is a throwaway if it should fail. Originally started its life in J! 3.5.1 in 2013 but has always been maintained with the latest stable versions of Joomla and extensions. This is actually the first website that I use to test new releases of Joomla.

2) The System - Privacy Consent plugin was (of course) installed with J! 3.9.0; the plugin has been configured to refer to a privacy policy article. The plugin is normally set to its default "disabled" status but, for testing purposes, it is enabled. When the plugin is enabled, the problem raises its head.

3) The User - Profile plugin is enabled.

4) The main menu is fairly simple; there is no "edit user profile" menu item used on the website (there's no requirement for it).

Reproducing the problem:

1) Enable the System - Privacy Consent plugin (at the backend) and login to the frontend. As expected, on logging in, the user is redirected to the "user profile" page to confirm that the logged-in user accepts the privacy policy. This is the screen that is displayed:
j39_privacy01.png