alha 6 "Environment Setup Incomplete"

Be informed that this forum is not an official support forum for Joomla! 4.0. Any issues regarding Joomla! 4.0 must be reported at https://issues.joomla.org/.

Joomla 4.0 is still in Beta stage. This forum should be used for sharing information about Joomla! 4.0.

Moderator: ooffick

Forum rules
Locked
User avatar
klipper
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:03 pm
Location: Netherlands

alha 6 "Environment Setup Incomplete"

Post by klipper » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:41 pm

Today I tryed to install the Joomla 4 alpha6 release on localhost (php 7.2.2).
I do not get the normal Joomla install interface (I got correct one with alpha5), but the message:
"Environment Setup Incomplete". There's a link to a page on docs.joomla.org how to set up this environment.
But I do not want to set up such an environment. I want to test as a normal Joomla user...

Is this something new that alpha versions starting with alpha 6 only can be installed and tested in such an environment?
If yes I think this is very bad and annoying.

Or is there something wrong with this alpha 6 version released yesterday?
If yes, can someone point me to a normal installable version of Joola 4 alpha 6?

User avatar
toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14694
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: alha 6 "Environment Setup Incomplete"

Post by toivo » Sat Dec 29, 2018 8:10 am

klipper wrote:There's a link to a page on docs.joomla.org how to set up this environment.
But I do not want to set up such an environment. I want to test as a normal Joomla user...
That message, "it looks like you are trying to run Joomla! from our git repository. To do so requires you complete a couple of extra steps first" and the More Details link https://docs.joomla.org/J4.x:Setting_Up ... nvironment is intended for developers. You are right, normal Joomla users should not have to know about Composer, npm or SASS.

klipper wrote:Or is there something wrong with this alpha 6 version released yesterday?
If yes, can someone point me to a normal installable version of Joola 4 alpha 6?
I am sure this issue will be rectified in the future. In fact, if you download the Alpha 7 Development version from the Nightly Builds, its installation process has only the normal checks and recommendations you are used to in 3.x: https://developer.joomla.org/nightly-bu ... #joomla-40
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

User avatar
klipper
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:03 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: alha 6 "Environment Setup Incomplete"

Post by klipper » Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:07 pm

Hi Toivo,

Thanks for your answer!
I tried Joomla_4.0.0-alpha7-dev-Development-Full_Package.zip now and got the right install interface and finished the installprocess as expected.

I hope the development-team will fix this weird issue in the future.


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 4 Related”