Reinstall core files

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Pammie
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Reinstall core files

Post by Pammie » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:25 am

Hello

I have a site that seems to be missing some core files. Reinstall core files in the back end doesn't work, as this appears to be something lost, along with update in the back end, and language override, so it looks as if I will have to reinstall manually.

I haven't knowingly changed any of the Joomla core files on the site and if I upload Joomla package via FTP and reinstall that way, will it work, and will I loose the content?

Thanks for your help
Pam

mjparadac
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Reinstall core files

Post by mjparadac » Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:09 pm

Hello Pam

If you upload the core files of Joomla, you should not have problems.
But remember, always make a backup before an action like that.
Full backup, files and database.

Regards,
Joomla Community Ambassador for A2 Hosting | A2 Hosting - Our speed, your success | https://www.a2hosting.com/joomla-hosting

AMurray
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Post by AMurray » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:15 pm

I don't know why the reinstall the files from Joomla update component doesn't work - it should. When you say "reinstall core files from back end doesn't work" I hope you haven't been trying this from Extension Manager - because that will definitely not work, and it's not supposed to work that way.