Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 3.x.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
artax
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:21 am

Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Post by artax » Thu May 16, 2019 8:59 am

Good morning everyone,
I'd have a question. I correctly set up a multilanguage site with joomla.
However, for one of the 2 languages I don't have content yet.
Is there any way to disable the multilanguage features altogether without messing up the site? I'd wait until I have enough content for the second language, then I'll enable it again.

So I ask: is it enough to unpublish the language switcher module?

Thank you!

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22087
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Post by pe7er » Thu May 16, 2019 9:11 am

I would just unpublish the content languages that are not yet ready:

Go to: Extensions > Language(s) > Content Languages
and Unpublish the languages you do not need.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18798
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Post by infograf768 » Thu May 16, 2019 9:31 am

> is it enough to unpublish the language switcher module?

No.

These are the necessary steps
Set the site offline.
Desactivate the Language Filter plugin.
Unpublish all Langswitcher modules.
Set the Default Home page that was set to the Content language you want to keep to language `All`.
Make sure to unpublish the menu module containing the Default Home menu item to which language "All" was assigned previously.
Unpublish the Content Language you don't want to display for now.

@pe7er
Unpublishing the content language in the making is not enough.
It would have been OK if there had been 3 languages and keeping 2 of them.
In this case we have to make sure the site is temporary set to monolingual.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22087
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Post by pe7er » Fri May 17, 2019 4:41 am

infograf768 wrote:
Thu May 16, 2019 9:31 am
Unpublishing the content language in the making is not enough.
Ok, thanks for correcting me on that JM!
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

artax
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:21 am

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Post by artax » Fri May 17, 2019 9:04 am

Thanks guys for your kind reply.
infograf768 wrote:
Thu May 16, 2019 9:31 am
> is it enough to unpublish the language switcher module?

These are the necessary steps
Set the site offline.
Desactivate the Language Filter plugin.
Unpublish all Langswitcher modules.
Set the Default Home page that was set to the Content language you want to keep to language `All`.
Make sure to unpublish the menu module containing the Default Home menu item to which language "All" was assigned previously.
Unpublish the Content Language you don't want to display for now.
Thanks a lot, I did that.
However, I don't why now I got the English menu instead of the Italian one that I want to keep. I don't know why it's retrieving that one.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18798
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Post by infograf768 » Sat May 18, 2019 5:43 am

The Italian menu Default home page menu item (which should be set to "All" languages) and its menu module should be published.
The English one should be unpublished.
Make sure the default site language is set to Italian.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18798
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Put on hold multilanguage functionalities

Post by infograf768 » Sat May 18, 2019 5:48 am

Also, the error may come the template you are using. Test with protostar.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group


Post Reply

Return to “Language - Joomla! 3.x”