Search function not working in research site built with Joomla! 1.5.26

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
john drew
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 8:01 pm

Search function not working in research site built with Joomla! 1.5.26

Post by john drew » Sun May 31, 2020 8:11 pm

Apologies if this is a misfire. I 'run' a research site built by a superb long departed technician in Joomla! 1.5.26

It is text and image based--30,000 images (a Victorian magazine) with associated transcript (30,000,000 words of text).

For a few months now, the Search function leads to an error message:

500 - TocModel::getRows DBO Error : Could not connect to MySQL

Does anyone know of a simple fix for this through the Administrator back end, for a non-computer-programmer?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27301
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Search function not working in research site built with Joomla! 1.5.26

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun May 31, 2020 8:28 pm

Mod. Note: Relocated the topic to the J1.5 Forum. Support for J1.5 ended in 2012.

This version may seas to stop working if the version of php on the server is updated to 7.x. Last working version is 5.6.

Is the Administrator back-end working? The error message indicates a problem with connecting to the database. It cannot be the database Joomla is using, as it would have stopped working completely.

Perhaps you have an extension that connects to another database that have been taken down.

john drew
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 31, 2020 8:01 pm

Re: Search function not working in research site built with Joomla! 1.5.26

Post by john drew » Sun May 31, 2020 8:33 pm

Thanks Per, I'll investigate this. Maybe also transfer my query to the J1.5 forum, as the moderator suggests!

the back end is working and the main site is all working fine--just the search extension that isn't which suggests it was maybe on another database...

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27301
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Romerike, Norway

Re: Search function not working in research site built with Joomla! 1.5.26

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun May 31, 2020 8:48 pm

Go to Plugin Manager and see if any extra Search Plugins are installed.


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5”