3.9.19 to 3.9.20: AJAX Loading Error: Invalid login Topic is solved

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 3.x?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
sogryzkov
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

3.9.19 to 3.9.20: AJAX Loading Error: Invalid login

Post by sogryzkov » Thu Jul 16, 2020 12:55 pm

Hi everybody,

I have many websites powered by Joomla! (one of my favorite CMSes!). With most of them there are no problems with aumomated updates from the current CMS' version to the next one using the common administrative interface (Components > Joomla! Update > Install the Update).

But I have 3 websites which cannot be updated a normal way and give me the error message “AJAX Loading Error: Invalid login” (in Chrome's console it is written as POST /administrator/components/com_joomlaupdate/restore.php 502).

I have already tried everything I found on the Internet regarging this problem – nothing helped. Any fresh ideas?..

I am ready to follow all possible advices, even if they are repetitive as compared to those I have already tried. Thanks in advance!

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: 3.9.19 to 3.9.20: AJAX Loading Error: Invalid login

Post by AMurray » Thu Jul 16, 2020 10:04 pm

Can you try the "Upload and Update" method? Download the update package, and install it through the Upload & Update tab under Joomla Update? https://downloads.joomla.org/cms/joomla3/3-9-20

Also check in Global Configuration - make sure the FTP options are turned off/disabled (that may be the cause of the 'invalid login' error).

I don't know the "everything you have tried" so apologies if the above is just repeating what you have already done.
Regards - A Murray