Hover and Menu Link Problem-ish? Topic is solved

Everything to do with Joomla! 4.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
mahaha
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Hover and Menu Link Problem-ish?

Post by mahaha » Sat Jan 14, 2023 12:55 am

Hi all,
I'm finally messing around with updating our site over to 4.2, our current site is 3.10. I'm adjusting the cassiopeia template rather than using the 3.0 template I built from scratch.

Coding has changed alot in the 5 or 6 years since I built the last site, so I assume this is something dumb I'm missing or that i've done.

I'm having a hard time figuring out why the drop down is only triggered by the triangle on the right and not the whole text link? Same with hover - it's black right now to show the area the hover is taking up which isn't the full area.

The active area is showing correctly, hence I'm dumbfounded.

So I guess my question is what am I missing that the hover state is only a small fraction of the space that is showing in the drop down and main link? My goal is to have a color that fills the menus option area like the active state is showing.

I can post the environment information if needed, just feels like this is something so simple I'm not seeing it. I've gone through the cassiopeia customization files, even the main demo site is showing the drop down link be one with the text.

any ideas or a nudge in the right direction?

http://www.hansondigitalhosting.com/hd4_v2

Oh and how in the heck to I get rid of the active underline in the top level of the menu? that's also causing me to head scratch. I can't find that text-decoration line to save my life.