Advertisement

Cannot create Template Override for Components

Everything to do with Joomla! 4.x templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
hronteich
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Cannot create Template Override for Components

Post by hronteich » Thu Feb 09, 2023 4:17 pm

I've been trying to create a template override for the search results page, as well as the Tag listing.

In order to do this I went to the following Menu in the Administrator Panel:

System > Site Templates > 'Template Name' > Create Overrides > com_tags > tag/tags
as well as
System > Site Templates > 'Template Name' > Create Overrides > com_finder > search

This seems to create the overrides in the proper folders:

Code: Select all

joomla/templates/my_template/html/com_finder/search
joomla/templates/my_template/html/com_tags/tag
joomla/templates/my_template/html/com_tags/tags
All of them contain a default.php as well as the respective default sublayouts. When I edit the default.php, I can see the changes I made in the default.php in the frontend, so this seems to be the proper folder for the overrides.

Now I want to create a new Template Style so I can select this specific style in the Menu Items. To do this I copy the default.php and call it test.php as well as put it in the same place as the default.php . For modules this works flawlessly. I copy the default.php, rename it and the I can select a 'Template Style' for the modules in the admin area. With components, this doesn't work.